Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2021, 10:36 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 170
Default Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

In celebration of Avid's efforts to roll out 2021.12 and get us early M1 MacBook Pro adopters up and running, I made a retro style Monterey icon for those of us old enough to remember it..

Screenshot 2021-12-14 at 18.19.30.png

You can download the icns here
__________________
MacBook Pro Apple M1 Pro 32GB Mac OS 12.6.2 Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12

_____________________________________________

Last edited by Burbree; 01-11-2023 at 11:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2021, 03:29 AM
jdmartin jdmartin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

This is awesome, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2021, 02:59 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,677
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Very nice! Such memories...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2021, 03:31 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,984
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Somehow I like the PT8HD icon the best. To each his/her own.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2021, 05:49 PM
Ghost In The Attic's Avatar
Ghost In The Attic Ghost In The Attic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 799
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

I love the Retro Pro Tools Icon. How do I change the stock one with it?
I've changed drive icons before, but I must be doing something wrong because I can’t get it to change. I could change it to the same name as the existing one and replace it. But, is there a better way?

Thanks!
__________________
Retro 176 (pair), Pultec EQP-1A (pair), Germanium Comps (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL Fusion, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM92, PCM70... Amps, Amps & More Amps.

Last edited by Ghost In The Attic; 12-15-2021 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2021, 07:22 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,677
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost In The Attic View Post
I love the Retro Pro Tools Icon. How do I change the stock one with it?
I've changed drive icons before, but I must be doing something wrong because I can’t get it to change. I could change it to the same name as the existing one and replace it. But, is there a better way?

Thanks!
Here's what I did. Have the retro icon on your desktop, open your applications folder and select the ProTools icon. Hit command-i to Get Info. Drag the retro icon into the top left corner of that Get Info window (over the existing icon) and you should see a + as you hover over the top. Let go of the mouse and voila!

It may not show up properly in the Dock until you actually open ProTools.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2021, 08:23 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 170
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Well done Eric you worked it out :)
__________________
MacBook Pro Apple M1 Pro 32GB Mac OS 12.6.2 Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2021, 08:32 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 170
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Somehow I like the PT8HD icon the best. To each his/her own.
Maybe I'll do a red "M Powered" PT8 one when Avid drops the M1 native version
__________________
MacBook Pro Apple M1 Pro 32GB Mac OS 12.6.2 Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.12

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2021, 08:44 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,984
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
Maybe I'll do a red "M Powered" PT8 one when Avid drops the M1 native version
Oh no, not that. HD icon with classy blue is the best. But tone it to purple to make it modern.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2021, 09:12 AM
Ghost In The Attic's Avatar
Ghost In The Attic Ghost In The Attic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 799
Default Re: Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Here's what I did. Have the retro icon on your desktop, open your applications folder and select the ProTools icon. Hit command-i to Get Info. Drag the retro icon into the top left corner of that Get Info window (over the existing icon) and you should see a + as you hover over the top. Let go of the mouse and voila!

It may not show up properly in the Dock until you actually open ProTools.
Eric,
Thanks!
__________________
Retro 176 (pair), Pultec EQP-1A (pair), Germanium Comps (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL Fusion, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM92, PCM70... Amps, Amps & More Amps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monterey is now available Obsidian Dragon macOS 80 02-05-2022 10:52 AM
M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools JJRivers Pro Tools 45 12-09-2021 06:33 AM
Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas? off the wall macOS 28 11-17-2021 10:21 AM
Setting up my retro vintage sounding Pro Tools circa 1990 crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 02-07-2011 02:21 AM
Pro Tools LE, DirectConnect 1.1b, and Retro AS-1. How? n0gadk0t Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-13-2000 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com