Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2012, 08:01 AM
ghostarbeiter ghostarbeiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia, EU
Posts: 4
Default 001 dead?

Hey all,

just dropped to ask most knowledgable bunch online ...
I've worked on Digi-s (002,003) professionally, but never had one home.

Now, a friend gave me a 001, which supposedly worked well. I picked an oldest machine I had, just in case - an 3GHz single Intel on 865 chipset, still DDR1 and all.
And machine won't boot with Digi card in it. I've changed pci slot - no difference. Tried it in more recent machines, same thing. When I get external unit connected, its power LED lights up, but can't get a system working at all - no sounds from mobo, no screen, nothing.

Am I dealing with a fried card?

I caught a few notions (gearslutz, I think) that 001 maybe asks for even older system - namely something to do with PCI slots, but that sounds ridicolous, since people here run 001's on pretty recent harware.

Not that anything depends on this, but wanted to try it ...

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2012, 12:13 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,422
Default Re: 001 dead?

What OS is on the computer? You need to have XP, Pro Tools version 6.4 with cs6 and cs 9(assuming any SP updates on Windows). You might try installing 6.4 and the updaters first, then try installing the PCI card.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:50 PM
ghostarbeiter ghostarbeiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia, EU
Posts: 4
Default Re: 001 dead?

Thanks for the response, albee.
I'm aware that it needs to be PT 6.4 but I didn't check cs-es.

Yes, it is XP on that machine, SP2. But I don't see what it has to do with machine not booting ... I don't know if I was clear enough - BIOS won't load, I don't get anything on the screen. It seems to me like it's something very wrong with the card, when it stops the whole system. When I unplug it, all works fine. I've checked now, it is a Gigabyte motherboard, Intel 865 chipset, like I said, and an integrated graphics - maybe that makes the havoc? But, then again, I tried plugging 001 card in different systems, all with the same results.

But again, I've never installed any of the Digi's on any system, so I want to check if i'm maybe missing something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:38 AM
ghostarbeiter ghostarbeiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia, EU
Posts: 4
Default Re: 001 dead?

Ok, got it going. Sort of.
I checked manual again and found something about problems with ethrnet cards - simply disabling onboard LAN got machine going ... It's an ITE controller here (in case anyone gets into same situation). Maybe some others would work together with 001.
I've decided to put standalone driver for a start - not sure how useful PT would be on this machine... anyways got me some testing fun for sometime.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2012, 06:06 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: 001 dead?

Hope you get it working. My 001 is almost 10 years old and going strong. If there was any way in the world that I could use it instead of any of the 3rd party, m-audio or subsequent digi/avid devices, I would use it with gusto.

I'm still miffed that the 001 got hung out to dry but nothing to do about it.
I plan on keeping mine for a living room workstation.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:53 AM
ghostarbeiter ghostarbeiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Serbia, EU
Posts: 4
Default Re: 001 dead?

Thanks for support graveleye.

I've already read on a number of places online how satisfied people were (are) with 001. I'm not lazy to get my hands dirty, if i can get it going ...

Had some other things going on these couple of days, so not musch progress on this. Except that I found another DDR1 module, in total 2gig for that machine. With Pentium4 3GHz, it actually should be pretty usable. I actually remember doing serious work on 1GHz machines back in the 2003-04. I still remember how many services you can kill in XP, and how lean can it be.

I got the system with 001 going on earlier. Now I have to put drivers on, and remove all the software I don't need, put audio software on... I am pretty convinced PT would run well on this. I 'll report my status when I make all that.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2012, 11:48 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,245
Default Re: 001 dead?

Good luck on it. The 001 is an awesome device. I have a multi-channel preamp running into mine via optical, and I get 10 preamped mic inputs, and if I wanted to I could add more via the 1/4" ins and then spdif as well.

If it weren't for the capabilities of the current PT versions, I wouldn't even consider changing what I have. Thing is a lot of new software won't run with mine, so I've been in the painful process of upgrading.

But as long as it works, I'm keeping the 001.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dead G5, please help!!! audioluche Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 01-15-2009 09:40 AM
Is my 002 dead?? crazy_ow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-27-2008 02:28 PM
Dead NTK guentherschmidt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-08-2004 10:55 PM
dead fan? goldfinger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-25-2004 12:29 PM
Dead DSP nothingonme Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-12-2001 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com