Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2016, 04:47 PM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys

I'm using the default soft keys set. When I try to "save as" using the Shift modifier and the clear button, after the save completes the shift button is still engaged. It seems to latch. So any keystrokes or mouse commands function as if I'm holding down shift on my keyboard. Pressing shift on my keyboard does nothing to cancel out the latching. I must press the shift modifier on the S6.

It doesn't happen with all shift modifiers, and I haven't done much testing (or noticed issues with other modifier keys) However, I think it might have something to do with a dialog coming up on the computer screen. If I program another soft key using the shift layer and the eucon command "select all" it acts as it should, releasing the shift functionality. But if I create a soft key to create a memory location, which brings up a dialog box on screen, the latching shift bug is back.

Can anyone else confirm?

Windows 7. PT 12.5. S6 M40 v2.1.1.68
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2016, 07:39 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,796
Default Re: S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys

Greetings,

I verified that exact behavior here. Checking into it to now.




Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2016, 01:33 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Smith View Post
I'm using the default soft keys set. When I try to "save as" using the Shift modifier and the clear button, after the save completes the shift button is still engaged. It seems to latch. So any keystrokes or mouse commands function as if I'm holding down shift on my keyboard. Pressing shift on my keyboard does nothing to cancel out the latching. I must press the shift modifier on the S6.

It doesn't happen with all shift modifiers, and I haven't done much testing (or noticed issues with other modifier keys) However, I think it might have something to do with a dialog coming up on the computer screen. If I program another soft key using the shift layer and the eucon command "select all" it acts as it should, releasing the shift functionality. But if I create a soft key to create a memory location, which brings up a dialog box on screen, the latching shift bug is back.

Can anyone else confirm?

Windows 7. PT 12.5. S6 M40 v2.1.1.68
Reproduced here.

I think Eddie has already logged this as a bug?
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=378811
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2016, 01:39 PM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: S6 Bug Report: Shift Modifier Latching with Soft Keys

Looks like it. Thanks Dave. I searched a little in the forum for similar threads. But I didn't find yours.

I have tested other modifiers and it seems to latch all of them. So I've stopped using the modifiers plus soft key combos.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softkey shift modifier possible bug? Marsdy Avid S4/S6 4 03-15-2016 01:51 AM
S6 modifier keys not functional after 2.0.1 update sauna-l Avid S4/S6 2 10-09-2015 12:15 AM
D-Command Modifier keys not working Touchwood Studios ICON & C|24 3 03-01-2011 09:12 AM
C|24 Modifier Keys in 8.0.3 paulmellors ICON & C|24 1 02-10-2010 08:46 AM
Modifier keys...anyone remember Workman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-24-2005 03:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com