Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Old 03-05-2007, 02:51 AM

Default Pro Tools 7.3.` Academic Version won\'t play/record

Hi,
I have a macbook pro and i'm running 7.3.1 with the M-Audio Ozone keyboard.
I'm a 10 year Sonar user and I'm just learning how to use Pro Tools now.

My problem is:

When I try to play or record it only works about 1/3 of the time.
Most of the time pro tools just stops itself. I press play and then the stop button lights up. I can hear the first note of my already recorded midi info but thats it.
Then I hit play or record again and then it works. Sometimes I can't even get it to play or record at all!!!

I called tech support and they said it's an issue that a lot of people are having and they don't know why. Great!

I can't even make a beat without getting frustrated. Anyone have this same problem and found a way to fix it?

Thanks a lot.

Josh

Reged: 03/21/06
Re: Pro Tools not playing/recording [Re: UnderRated]
#1122702 - 03/02/07 08:06 AM Edit Reply Quote

Try turning off the dynamic transport...I hardly make beats on pro tools but I know when I first got 7.3 it would do something similar I shut off the dynamic transport and it stopped I was able to turn it back on and have everything work fine , havent had a problem since...

Reged: 02/11/07
Re: Pro Tools not playing/recording [Re: buctayla]
#1123555 - 03/03/07 07:16 PM Edit Reply Quote

Hey, thanks for the reply.
I tried what you said and it seemed to fix the problem for a minute.
I actually had the dynamic transport checked so I turned it off.
Then it played for 12x in a row.
I was SO happy and left to do something else.
When I came back, it started back again.