Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2011, 06:37 PM
CoreyMaim CoreyMaim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 4
Default Audio won't record through instrument input

Hey,
I've seen similar questions on other boards, but with no resolutions. Basically, the microphone input on the Fast Track words fine, and easily records into Pro Tools SE. But when I plug in my synth (a MicroKorg, if that matters) through a standard guitar cable (or 'instrument cable', I've tried both), I hear it though the direct monitor, but once I arm an audio track, it doesn't register, and doesn't record anything.
If I also plug in the M-Audio USB MIDI controller, I can hear both the synth sounds and the MIDI controlled ones, but only the MIDI stuff actually records.
I downloaded the latest drivers and everything, but to no avail.
I've only used my synth so far, but I'm getting an electric guitar soon, so I'd really like to figure out how to get this to record, I feel like I must just be overlooking something.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 09:33 PM
lincol1 lincol1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 406
Default Re: Audio won't record through instrument input

Are you assigning the track input according to the physical interface input? Does the fast track have a switch to go between mic and line level signals?
__________________
Lincoln Mitchell

www.studiofifty.net

Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad, 10.6.6, 12GB Ram, PT9, Logic 9, Kontakt, East West, VSL, Waves, Sound Toys, IK Multimedia
RME FF UC, Focusrite Octopre mkii, UA LA 610 mkii, MC Transport, Yamaha HS80M, Lauten, AKG, Sure, Blue
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2011, 09:40 AM
Cameron M Cameron M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pasadena
Posts: 47
Default Re: Audio won't record through instrument input

Hello Corey,
Make sure you choose input 2 in Pro Tools to use the 1/4 input(Guitar input). XLR(mic plug) shows up in Pro Tools as input 1. You can make this choice next to the title on the track.

The midi keyboard is only going to record midi in Pro Tools. If you would like to create an audio track from a midi performance, Solo the track or tracks you would like to turn into audio. Go to File/ Export Audio. Once you have created the audio track, go to File/Import, and inport it as a new track.
That should be it.

Cameron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2011, 10:56 AM
CoreyMaim CoreyMaim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio won't record through instrument input

Thanks a lot! I had totally looked past the input number, now I'm good to go!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools not recognising audio input, cannot record audio! mr_J_stylez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-01-2017 07:44 AM
FWx with PT 9, Record / INPUT results in stuttered audio output mu-tron-kid VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 10-02-2012 01:40 PM
2 instrument tracks each controlled by different MIDI input/instrument Midimax Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 03-20-2012 03:10 PM
Impossible to record audio because Audio Input is not active? papitopinillo Windows 10 01-21-2012 10:22 AM
Can I record in stereo using the Powerbook G4 mini-jack external audio input? msa007 Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 01-26-2003 08:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com