Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2007, 05:59 PM
jaaypeso jaaypeso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

Hello,
I have been using Pro Tools for about 3 months now, and I have a question for anybody that could give me some insight. I am trying to figure out the easiest way to make my audio files go to a separate folder that shares the name of whatever I save the track as. For example, if I save the track as Song A, I would like all the audio files from that Pro Tools file to be saved in a folder called Song A. I know the painstaking way to do this is to go find each file from the session (such as Audio 1, Audio 2, etc.), and put them in their manually. But I was wondering if anyone had any tips on an easier way to do this. I am asking so I can backup my most important sessions on DVD's. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2007, 03:47 AM
jaaypeso jaaypeso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

Can anybody help me out with this one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2007, 07:23 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

When you create and name a new session, Pro Tools makes a folder, by that name, for the session in the location you choose. All related files should automatically be saved in that session folder by default.
Is that not happening?
Is this even what you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2007, 08:18 AM
Fede W Fede W is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 30
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

I don´t know if this will help you in any way, but, if what you are trying to do is to keep your file system kinda clean and "understandable" here´s a tip:

Every time you record a new track, once you´ve created the Audio Track, RENAME IT BEFORE actually recording. If you do it, your audio file will be recorded and saved with the track´s name. (ex., Kick 01, Snare 01, etc.). And as JMS wrote above, it will be saved into the folder in which you`ve created the session in (inside the Audio folder). Hope this helps!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2007, 11:42 AM
jaaypeso jaaypeso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

I think it has something to do with the fact that I use the same Pro Tools Template (that I created) for every track as a common starting point. Therefore, it puts all the audio files in the same folder. Is there any way to get it to automatically create separate folders or am I missing something here? Also, thanks for the feedback so far guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2007, 11:47 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

Are you just opening the template session to start with? If so, don't do that.

Create a new session, and then "Import Session Data" from the template. That will correct your problem for all new sessions that you start.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2007, 11:57 AM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

How about opening the template, then doing a "Save As" under the new name? Would that create a new folder under the new name?
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2007, 12:37 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

No. "Save Copy in..." would, but you would have to make sure you checked the box at the bottom to copy audio data. All of the original data stays in the old folder too, though, so...


There are many ways to work from a template, and they really are all personal preference. My own personal preference is to use Import Session Data from templates, because I think it is the method that makes managing all the files the easiest. YMMV.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:43 PM
jaaypeso jaaypeso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.3 Save Question???

Thanks spkguitar, I'm going to try that tonight once I get free. I think that is exactly what I was looking for. Now I can have the separate folders while still using my template. It would be a nightmare to have to recreate my template every time I start a session. I really appreciate you taking the time out to help me with my problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save copy in as 7-9 question Vedat Pro Tools 10 14 02-02-2012 04:48 PM
have a save question for ya gould Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-29-2009 03:24 PM
Save As question. 100below Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-25-2005 08:23 PM
Save as copy in question centerstage Tips & Tricks 1 09-03-2003 08:49 AM
Question about "Save session as" Burton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-09-2001 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com