Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:24 AM
Vashta Nerada Vashta Nerada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kingwood
Posts: 7
Unhappy Need advice on update

I'm having difficulty updating from 8.0 to 8.0.1 I have gone through the avid download process and installed 8.0.1 and when I do the restart of the computer I lose the shortcut to pro tools and cannot find the program anywhere.
Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2011, 11:14 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,503
Default Re: Need advice on update

Tell us more about how you did this and please post a Sandra report on your system. Start Here.

And tell us what interface you are using.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2011, 08:23 PM
Vashta Nerada Vashta Nerada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kingwood
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need advice on update

Here is the sandra report
Computer
Model : Dell MP061
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : aaron-2de108023
User : bielish

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz
Speed : 2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 0YD479
BIOS : Dell A10 08/26/2009
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB PCMCIA USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell 955XM/945GM/PM/GMS/940GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 166MHz (664MHz)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 332MHz (664MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Samsung M4 70T2953CZ3-CE6 1GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-13 3-18-5-3)
Memory Module : Samsung M4 70T2953CZ3-CE6 1GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-13 3-18-5-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS (20 PS3.0, 7 VS3.0 375MHz, 256MB 1GHz 256-bit, PCIe 1.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS (20 PS3.0, 7 VS3.0 375MHz, 256MB 1GHz 256-bit, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Hitachi HTS725050A9A364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 15MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
WD 10EAVS External 1TB (USB) : 932GB (J:)
WD 5000AAV External 500.1GB (USB) : 466GB (M:)
SanDisk mSD SDDR-189 (USB) : N/A (F:)
SanDisk SD SDDR-189 (USB) : N/A (G:)
SanDisk MSxDSDDR-189 (USB) : N/A (H:)
SanDisk CF SDDR-189 2GB (RAID/USB) : 2GB (I:)
TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-L632D (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS725050A9A364 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 15MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ TSSTcorp DVD+/-RW TS-L632D (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A @ SanDisk mSD SDDR-189 (USB)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ SanDisk SD SDDR-189 (USB)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ SanDisk MSxDSDDR-189 (USB)
Removable Drive (I:) : 2GB (FAT) @ SanDisk CF SDDR-189 2GB (RAID/USB)
My Book (J:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WD 10EAVS External 1TB (USB)
My Book (M:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ WD 5000AAV External 500.1GB (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC FDC37N769
Audio Device : Dell 82801G (ICH7) High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Sigmatel 9200 HD Audio Codec
Audio Codec : Conexant HDAudio Soft Data Fax Modem with SmartCP
Serial Port(s) : 6
Disk Controller : Dell 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M) Serial ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Dell SD Bus Host Adapter
USB Controller 1 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell R5C832 IEEE-1394 Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : EPSON Artisan 710 Series (360x360, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Network Adapter : Dell Wireless 1500 Draft 802.11n WLAN Mini-Card - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 54Mbps)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth LAN Access Server Driver - Packet Scheduler Miniport

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
I'm using a USB Mbox 2 interface.
I optimized the system to run pro tools. It was working, but I was getting buffer errors, either too much or too little. I talked with a colleage about it. He mentioned I should probably do the upgrade to 8.0.1 and that would resolve the perplexing errors.
I cannot get the computer to recognize the update though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2011, 09:32 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,434
Default Re: Need advice on update

Bluetooth and wifi must be disabled for running Pro Tools. Dells often have incompatible firewire controllers(I don't know for sure on yours). As said, USB drives are not approved for XP.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2011, 10:20 PM
Vashta Nerada Vashta Nerada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kingwood
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need advice on update

I did have it fully optimized a la avids recommendations for XP setup with all cards off. And it was running with 8, just with some occasional contradictory buffer error messages, sometimes it would want a bigger buffer, then the next message would be that the buffer was too small.
The weird thing is sometimes the buffer errors would never show up.
I was usin gthe C drive for the software and using usb drives for replay and record memory.
Tomorrow I'm going to buy a firewire drive to see if that fixes the errors in v.8.
But the weirder thing is, I can't get it to recognize 8.0.1. when I try the update.
Righ now I reinstalling it again off of the disk.
Should I skip ahead with the updates and see if 8.0.4 has a fix?
Also, what sort of program won't support USB drives, its not as if its some sort of exotic new format.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2011, 07:46 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,434
Default Re: Need advice on update

I would NOT go to 8.0.4. 8.0.1cs2 is where I would go with XP(8.0.4 has some serious issues). As for USB, it has nothing to do with software. Its all about the speed of the data transfer. The claimed 480 speed(compared to FW's 400 speed) is burst speed and not sustained(which is what you need for streaming lots of audio).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2011, 11:33 AM
Vashta Nerada Vashta Nerada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kingwood
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need advice on update

Thanks for the advice, I'll try a firewire and cross my fingers, I guess it wouldn't make a difference if it was a USB 2.0....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-27-2011, 04:59 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,434
Default Re: Need advice on update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vashta Nerada View Post
Thanks for the advice, I'll try a firewire and cross my fingers, I guess it wouldn't make a difference if it was a USB 2.0....
All USB drives are not supported on XP. USB2 drives ARE supported on Windows 7 only(and maybe only with PT9 but I can't be sure on that).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2011, 09:31 PM
Vashta Nerada Vashta Nerada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kingwood
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need advice on update

How about jumping straight up to v.9?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2011, 10:01 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,434
Default Re: Need advice on update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vashta Nerada View Post
How about jumping straight up to v.9?
It would be good to figure out if your system can be made stable. Changing Pro Tools version may confuse trouble-shooting right now. I love PT9, but it does have some minor issues that don't exist in 8.0.1. Then again, if your entire system is messed up, sometimes starting over works best, but remember, PT9 needs Windows 7, so you would be buying PT software, AND a new OS, AND going thru a complete new install of everything. Its up to you if you want to go there
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice: looking to update system Serip General Discussion 3 11-17-2011 11:58 AM
Advice for update to system...? Clarke Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-10-2011 06:33 AM
Need new update advice 8.0.3 cs1 flautista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-22-2010 01:26 AM
seeking advice on update, 6.4 to 7.? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-01-2008 02:58 PM
2 Questions Sampletank 2.1 update / advice on EQ.. ProperTonez General Discussion 0 11-19-2006 05:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com