Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-18-2022, 07:47 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Default Re: usb ilok required

Don't know a single person who likes it - they just use it because it is pervasive in the industry so it is just expected but I do not know a single engineer orcomposer who doesn't say it is trash. It got a name in the late 90's and early 2000's and at this point it is just a matter of time before the industry migrates to a different platform
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-18-2022, 08:16 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Default Re: usb ilok required

Definitely not. I need tools that work. Harbor Freight isn't for me either.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-18-2022, 10:14 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 888
Default Re: usb ilok required

Hmmmm?

I must have a 'one off' version that works really well every time.
Come to think about it, everyone I work with has the same experience.

I would suggest figuring out the weak link in your system that is causing all this grief.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-19-2022, 09:46 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: usb ilok required

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bookerv12 View Post
Hmmmm?

I must have a 'one off' version that works really well every time.
Come to think about it, everyone I work with has the same experience.

I would suggest figuring out the weak link in your system that is causing all this grief.
I have also had a pretty smooth ride going all the way back to PT 6. I would make the same suggestion, but I suspect that the haters will always hate and should just move on to the DAW that suits them. That's the beauty of options
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-19-2022, 03:35 PM
IzzyTay88 IzzyTay88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: usb ilok required

This is off topic but how do I post? I've been trying to all day.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-19-2022, 04:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,976
Default Re: usb ilok required

Quote:
Originally Posted by IzzyTay88 View Post
This is off topic but how do I post? I've been trying to all day.
See "How to Join & Post" up the top of every DUC web page. Some posts/new threads? *might* be held up for moderation for brand new users (an anti-spam measure because DUC has had lots of spam problems in the past).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2022, 04:06 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Default Re: usb ilok required

I have used with zero problems Digital performer, Sonar, Cubase, cakewalk, Audition, Protools pre-avid, and protools 6. This is the first daw in 25 years that gives me constant problems.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2022, 05:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: usb ilok required

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kungfumonk007 View Post
I have used with zero problems Digital performer, Sonar, Cubase, cakewalk, Audition, Protools pre-avid, and protools 6. This is the first daw in 25 years that gives me constant problems.
Have you optimized your computer for PT usage? Just because other programs work doesn't mean PT will. What are your system specs? Never really had any endemic issues with any version of PT. 99% of my issues were caused by pilot error.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2022, 07:08 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 21
Default Re: usb ilok required

Well this issue was a license issue. Hopefully doesn't happen every month. It is certainly possible my other issues are from composer cloud. I am on a schedule, I have deadlines and it is enormously frustrating to have the entire DAW go down on the weekend I set aside to get through a project.

I did follow the optimization guide. This kind of stuff might be part of the job description for engineers but I am not an engineer I am a composer and performer, the tools need to add convenience and ease, not additional complications.

My most persistent problem is with East West Orchestrator continuing to play the ostinato, or not receiving any midi messages even during from the native player. It is not fixed by all notes off message, I have to reboot, which fixes the problem. If I was just doing run of the mill recording it would be working fine I am sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is iLok Required to run? Xollop Pro Tools 9 6 11-05-2010 10:16 AM
PT LE 7.1--iLok Required for Plug-ins? dedukes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-16-2007 04:41 AM
ilok required for PC? sssoundsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-11-2005 09:03 AM
Ilok required? basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-23-2004 03:33 PM
ilok required moustaki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-05-2004 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com