Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2006, 10:55 AM
Primo Don Primo Don is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 22
Default How long can I record in a single pass?

You guys are great, by the way. I'm learning this stuff and you folks are invaluable. Thank you.

Anyway, I want to record live, just me and the acoustic (or me/acoustic and a 2nd singer/acoustic) and want to just run out of my board to the MBox, two tracks, or maybe even one (and hope the board mix is good enough.) My Glyph drive is the 80 GB one. How long can I record one and two tracks?

Recommendation on sample rate to maximize record time? This is mostly for posterity.

Thanks again! Adam
__________________
iBook G4, 1.42 GHz, 1.5 MB Ram, OS X.4.4
LE 7.0 MBox 1, Glyph HD
Waves RenMaxx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:02 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

http://www.digidesign.com/compato/osx/stg/le.cfm

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:27 AM
Primo Don Primo Don is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 22
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

I looked over the compatibility document but I think I'm missing what I'm supposed to be looking for. I have the disk space--2 tracks, 60 minutes, 24-bit @ 96 kHz is 1.9 GB. Can a single region be 60 minutes or longer? I'll of course divide them up when I do the "mix"...
__________________
iBook G4, 1.42 GHz, 1.5 MB Ram, OS X.4.4
LE 7.0 MBox 1, Glyph HD
Waves RenMaxx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2006, 11:38 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

Quote:
Can a single region be 60 minutes or longer?
Yes. In PT's preferences, you can change the disk allocation for record time, but by default it's set to 'open ended' which means it'll just keep going until you hit the size limit.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2006, 12:30 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

You're missing the maximum file size supported by Pro Tools which is on that document -- based on the sample rate it'll define the maximum record length.

Look and you shall find.

Pro Tools has a single audio file size limit of 2048 MB. This equates to about 4.5 hours at 24-bit, 44.1 kHz.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:12 PM
Primo Don Primo Don is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 22
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

Ah yes. So I found this: Pro Tools has a single audio file size limit of 2048 MB. This equates to about 4.5 hours at 24-bit, 44.1 kHz.

2048 MB, or 2 GB, right? 1.9 MB is 60 minutes of a stereo recording in one pass at 24-bit/96 kHz according to another reference book I have. And all this is dependant on whether my Glyph can hadle it that long, too, of course. And I *could* reduce the bit-depth/sample-rate to be on the safe side...
__________________
iBook G4, 1.42 GHz, 1.5 MB Ram, OS X.4.4
LE 7.0 MBox 1, Glyph HD
Waves RenMaxx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:21 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: How long can I record in a single pass?

... or make a selection in my post above my name and you'll find the same info.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For how long can I record on a single pass? M&Mguy Pro Tools 10 8 12-09-2013 09:39 AM
Record pass is visually impaired Trainwrecker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-02-2009 08:54 PM
Record disabling after each pass Oli P Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-04-2008 08:31 AM
One Session Is Shutting down After each record pass..Why? As Is 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-13-2008 05:00 PM
How long until single processor rtas probs fixed? J.D. Andrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-07-2006 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com