Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-06-2024, 12:04 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,697
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebaz View Post
... card that I believe has the TI chipset and for whatever reason is not working right ...
You need to verify that it's TI.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-07-2024, 05:47 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Pretty sure it said in device manager the driver was TI. I have attached a photo of the card. I tried the VIA card today and it had exactly the same result but seemed to have no driver issues and everything looked good just sounded bad. . I disabled the on board audio in bios, but that made no difference either.
It is so close to working, that is the frustrating thing. It plays fine for a few seconds then goes bad and can even get back on track again and play OK for a few seconds then cycle, repeat, etc. I will try a clean install and see if that fixes the conflict, before I scrap the whole idea and go USB
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20231210_182224.jpg (44.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-08-2024, 04:31 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,115
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Have you tried changing to the legacy firewire driver I posted?
What were the results of running LatencyMon?
You could uninstall your Quadro drivers and let Windows install the basic video drivers to eliminate that as a possible issue.


Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-10-2024, 03:23 AM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Hey Joel,
Thanks for that info. I ran LatencyMon and have attached the results.
The first is running audio in Adobe Audition 1.5, and the second is after I disabled CPU throttling. There is still some stuttering and minor distortion, but it does not slow down and degrade like it did, only some minor but still noticeable degradation. When playing audio through Audition, if I stop playback it takes a second or so for Audition to become responsive, where as if I am using Mbox2, (USB) as the audio device it is instantly responsive. The funny thing is I have been using Audition since it was released and even though the audio is fine with my previous PC running Win7, it recently started lagging as well on that PC until the program has been open for a while and then it is responsive to all actions again. I have removed the Nvidia drivers and re-installed the Avid drivers.
I tried the legacy driver, (at the moment I am still using the VIA card), and it played for a few seconds before going bad then silent. I may try the SIIG card with the legacy driver and see how that goes in the current configuration, but it did not help when the SIIG card was installed previously. I am very close to this working but not close enough to use it yet. I will happily purchase another interface but I am not convinced yet that it will totally solve the problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20240110_203118.jpg (52.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 20240110_205917.jpg (47.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-10-2024, 04:05 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,115
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

You don't need (shouldn't be) recording when running LatencyMon. Just run the test with no other applications open.

I can't read the screenshots, but check under the Drivers and Processes tabs to see what is causing latency.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-10-2024, 01:41 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
You don't need (shouldn't be) recording when running LatencyMon. Just run the test with no other applications open.

I can't read the screenshots, but check under the Drivers and Processes tabs to see what is causing latency.

Joel
Yeah, sorry about the photos, they get severely downsized when up loading.
I got a no problems report when just running LatencyMon, so I thought I would run it while it was having audio issues, that is when the report was showing a problem. There was no problem in LatencyMon after disabling CPU throttling, but the audio problems were still there.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-19-2024, 02:53 PM
thebaz thebaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
Default Re: 003+ on windows 10

I gave up, purchased a Midas MR18.
Problem solved
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 3 11-06-2023 05:26 AM
Is there a plugin that receives audio from a Windows application (aux IO for Windows) ZerglingPhilosophy AAX Plug-ins 4 10-05-2022 01:42 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 03:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 01:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com