Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Sync X & SYNC HD

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2024, 01:10 PM
evan.jerred evan.jerred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Sync HD drifts and stutters

Hi, I've recently added HDX, Sync HD, MTRX Studio and AJA Gen 10 to my studio to achieve genlock video. I have everything hooked up right, all indicators show everything is locked and set correctly, but my sync drifts over a half frame while working, and I get frequent ~1 second pauses/hangs especially just after scrubbing. I suspect the Sync HD or possibly the aftermarket serial cable I got on ebay, although it shows up fine in Digitest and PT, takes firmware "updates" (2.2.1) and I'm not having any dropouts or loss of connection to the Sync HD, at least not any that are indicated. It just doesn't work right. Cases are open and logs are sent to Avid, but progress is slow and I'm curious if anyone has any thoughts. I've tested two different computers running Ventura and Sonoma, PT 2023.12.1-2024.3.1, two different video peripherals (AJA IoXT and BM Ultrastudio HD Mini) with multiple drivers for each. Trashed prefs, reset Sync HD, gave it more room to breathe in my rack. Different sessions, blank sessions, different framerates, native and rosetta. No changes. The system runs smoother and in better sync with the Sync HD disabled and running standalone than when it's enabled. Not ideal!

Last edited by evan.jerred; 04-22-2024 at 02:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2024, 05:30 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

0.5 frames of drift over what timespan? After 90minutes of continuous playback?

Does the video card driver indicate that the correct clock is present (in the driver panel) and is it set to genlock to video-ref in the AJA panel?
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 04-23-2024 at 05:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2024, 05:43 AM
evan.jerred evan.jerred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

I could leave the system idle for 20 mins and my sync reading will be a few ms off. It just drifts constantly while working. I am resyncing the system (sync one2+time adjuster on my master) throughout the day. I’m on the Blackmagic card now but yes both cards software showed lock to incoming vid ref matching the session and video. As do the Sync settings in Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2024, 05:48 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

Still not sure if we're both using "drift" in the same way. In my world "drift" means you hit play and over time while playing continuously the sync of video and audio drift apart (sync gets worse more and more the longer you continue to play without stopping). Not sure if you mean "playing" when you say "20 minutes idle".
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2024, 06:03 AM
evan.jerred evan.jerred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

Sure, we could say the sync slips, or moves. It just doesn’t stay in sync during use. When I say idle I mean I can set the sync, walk away and come back 30 mins later and it won’t be in sync any more. Or I can edit for half an hour and it won’t be in sync any more. It doesn’t seem to be dependent on anything, it’s just moving around.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2024, 06:42 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

"walk away" and PT keeps playing forward or what does walk away mean? "during use" means continuous play?

Trying to understand if what you mean is actually a varying offset but once it plays it doesn't drift, it just keep playing with the fixed offset but no actual drift.

As in: I hit play and stop 10 times and the offset is different every time.

or

I hit play (it's in sync) and let it play for 20 min (no stopping) and then it's not sync anymore?

Remember that PT switches to a different playback mode when looping so I'm not sure if looping over a 10 minute segment is supported to maintain sync (regardless or being genlocked or not).

AFAI, genlock interlocks when playing. Not sure if it does it when looping.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-23-2024, 06:53 AM
evan.jerred evan.jerred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

No PT isn't playing in that scenario where I walk away and the sync slips, it's just sitting there doing nothing. I haven't tested sync over continuous playback, but when I set the sync it's stable enough to start and stop multiple times and show the same offset. No looping, just editing foley and dialogue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-23-2024, 07:03 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

OK, that's weird. I have not seen that yet. All playing fine with the below setup.
I use AJA driver 16.2.6.1. The newest one gave me problems but more in the area of not working at all unless I kept the panel open all the time. No stutter or weird sync.

Do you have it at all frame rates? Is your video clock generator faulty maybe?
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-23-2024, 07:52 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,374
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

What video codec are you working with?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-23-2024, 07:56 AM
evan.jerred evan.jerred is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: Sync HD drifts and stutters

DNxHD 36, 23.98 and 24. The stuttering/brief hangs happen even in a blank sessions though. Only thing to smooth operation is to disable the sync HD in peripherals. As for the clock generator, it could be faulty I suppose. I don’t have a spare to test with, but the sync HD and video card indicate they are locked to ref.

Last edited by evan.jerred; 04-23-2024 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video sync drifts Reckless Erik Post - Surround - Video 5 07-22-2021 04:32 AM
Rewired Sibelius 7 drifts LukeHoward macOS 1 02-18-2012 01:34 AM
7.0 issue? Click drifts Nathanael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-18-2005 02:44 PM
7.0 issue? Click drifts Nathanael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-16-2005 11:30 AM
sync drifts. need help ASAP whosmatt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-05-2005 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com