Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2013, 05:32 AM
brainiac brainiac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 2
Default reinstallation on new computer

Hi, I'm just writing for some ProTools installation advice. I have Protools 7.4 LE with an MBox 2 mini running on an old computer of mine (an iBook G4 with OS X 10.4.11). I have since bought a new computer (a MacBook Pro with OS X 10.6.8). Naturally, I want to move my ProTools on to the new computer. However, being brainiac, I've lost the installation discs and never registered the software (or at least have no record of having done so). I've tried just copying the folders and files from one computer to the other (a desperate move), but that only brought up messages that told me that I should "probably" reinstall. So: short of buying a new Protools system, is there any way to get Protools on to my MacBook? Thanks for the patience.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2013, 06:12 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: reinstallation on new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainiac View Post
Hi, I'm just writing for some ProTools installation advice. I have Protools 7.4 LE with an MBox 2 mini running on an old computer of mine (an iBook G4 with OS X 10.4.11). I have since bought a new computer (a MacBook Pro with OS X 10.6.8). Naturally, I want to move my ProTools on to the new computer. However, being brainiac, I've lost the installation discs and never registered the software (or at least have no record of having done so). I've tried just copying the folders and files from one computer to the other (a desperate move), but that only brought up messages that told me that I should "probably" reinstall. So: short of buying a new Protools system, is there any way to get Protools on to my MacBook? Thanks for the patience.
You would need your PTLE auth code and a suitable installer disc. Your 7.4 auth code would read something like DIGI 74xxxxx. If you don't have that your pretty much SOL. Registering your software is free and gets you download links in your MyAvid account. You best bet is to purchase a PTLE 8 upgrade or a used copy of PT 9 since that's what your going to want for 10.6.x. Check the compatibility information in the link at the top of the forumfor the exact requirements for 10.6.8 or consider upgrading or downgrading the OS version to match what're ever version of PT you end up with.

You might try try recovering your password if your still using the same email when you bought 7.4. See if you can recover a password from either MyAvid or the AvidStore. If you bought 7.4 in the AvidStore you may have download links there.

Hope that helps. My advice is to buy PT9 or PTLE 8. Or PT 10 if you have the coin.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2013, 05:26 AM
brainiac brainiac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 2
Default Re: reinstallation on new computer

Hi, thanks for the response, I appreciate it. That is good, clear advice, though it is exactly what I was fearing. I'm really not in the position to buy new software right now but it does look like that is what I will have to do. Take care, thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with reinstallation up to 8.05 pt le muscmp macOS 6 01-31-2014 01:44 AM
Installation/Reinstallation of MBOX on another computer darwinlee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-03-2008 12:48 PM
reinstallation problem jtll24 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-08-2006 10:31 PM
PT6.1 removal & reinstallation jmusco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-02-2003 06:14 AM
OMS Reinstallation jackruston Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-26-2001 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com