Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2022, 06:17 PM
rbracch rbracch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default remote overdub - click-track?

How are you. I’m wondering if someone could help? My bassist and I recorded a song live to Pro Tools using a click-track. The engineer, though he captured the audio nicely, is a newbie regarding some of the more in-depth aspects of the software. Our song has three separate tracks - lead vocal, acoustic guitar, and electric bass. I’d like to send the song to a friend (in another state) so he can remotely add mandolin to the song. Since I want him to use the same click-track that we used, must I turn that click-track into an audio track and send it to him as a separate .wav file? Or, is that click-track already recorded (but “mute-able” if need be) on one of the original vocal, guitar or bass tracks? Also, when I send him the song, should I “bounce” all three separate tracks (four, if the click-track is included?) to a single .wav file? Take care and thanks so much! - Brock

Last edited by rbracch; 12-06-2022 at 07:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2022, 03:05 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,151
Default Re: remote overdub - click-track?

How is your friend recording? Is he using Pro Tools? If so, the easiest way would be to send him the whole session, have him record his part into the same session, then send the session back to you.

If your friend is not using Pro Tools, then I would suggest bouncing each track separately without the click track, by muting the click track, soloing each track one at a time, and bouncing. Then unmute the click track, solo it, and bounce the click track as a separate track as well. Make absolutely sure that you don't change your in and out points when bouncing each track plus the click track, so they all can all be lined up at the same place and play in sync.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2022, 01:12 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: remote overdub - click-track?

And if your friend is using Pro Tools, I would pan the click to one side and pan all your audio tracks to the other side and bounce that as an MP3 stereo file and email it. When you bounce it, name the file "song nameXXXBPM"(where XXX is the actual tempo). Alternately, zip and upload the entire session with dropbox, wetranfer.com or some other file sharing utility
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid can you please sort out the click track & Click 2 plugin protoolsuserman Pro Tools 11 14 11-14-2013 09:11 AM
Overdub a track mr razor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-13-2006 07:29 AM
Can't find overdub for midi track, Is it a way to sctstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2005 11:30 PM
How do i overdub an AUDIO track??? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-29-2002 03:43 PM
How do i overdub a midi track? Mactronix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2002 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com