Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2009, 02:32 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fix!

I have downloaded all three cs updates, and then upgraded to 8.0.1 and I am still getting the Zoom bug. Not only does this bug shut down the session and application, but it also forces me to restart my whole machines as I get errors upon application restart if I don't reset the machine.

This is a HUGE deal as clients are not responsible for paying for time my equipment is down. Granted this only takes 5 minutes to get back on target, but sometimes it wipes out takes and edits and is a really big headache.

Please put this as the #1 bug on your list to fix. This is a BIG DEAL.

All users who get this bug please post so Digi recognizes the seriousness.

Thank you.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2009, 03:33 PM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 777
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
...I am still getting the Zoom bug....
can you please explain what the 'zoom-bug' is
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2009, 06:07 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,849
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Frankly, up to now I have not gotten it.
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:10 AM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonwurm View Post
can you please explain what the 'zoom-bug' is
The Zoom bug is when you are zooming in while audio is playing and you get the spinning wheel of death and then PT crashes.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2009, 09:13 AM
zakco zakco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 547
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
The Zoom bug is when you are zooming in while audio is playing and you get the spinning wheel of death and then PT crashes.
OUCH!

That's nasty.

I've never seen that here...{looking for wood to knock}

Probably obvious, but have you gone through EVERY plugin looking for something that is incompatible?

-Z-
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:30 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Uh, that's wierd, never experienced this.
TD
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:17 PM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 777
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

that´s exactly what happens with my system, on some days I have 10 crashes

- zooming out while playing audio frequently causes a crash

- making a selection in a automation lane while PT is stopped frequently causes a crash

I´ve found out that PT doesn´t crash so often if automation lanes are not shown and DSP-cache activated also seems not to be so good
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB Catalina
PT Ultimate Logic DP VEPro
PT10 HD3 Mavericks
MacBook Mainstage

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2009, 12:27 PM
BaileyBass BaileyBass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFord View Post
The Zoom bug is when you are zooming in while audio is playing and you get the spinning wheel of death and then PT crashes.
Does it matter which method/shortcut you are using to Zoom? "t" key, zoom control in the transport, cmmd-]...?
how many tracks?

I had this issue on another system and it was gone when RAM was reseated.
Also, make sure you empty the trash after pref/database cleanse. I have seen 2 experienced guys forget this step and wonder why that app "does not work". SB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2009, 01:41 PM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,287
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

I have seen this. Somewhere between 10.5.7 and cs3 it disappeared for me. Total disaster. Could not zoom during recording or playback. I'd have to switch over to Finder during either to make sure - I was that gun shy!

I'd take a look at re-applying the last OS update and Sound Toys plugs (mine weren't in the session, but needed an update) as well as possibly re-applying the last PT update you got.
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2009, 12:47 AM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: I'm tired of the Zoom Bug. Please post request for Digi to prioritize this bug fi

Ya for me this has been happening since I installed PT8HD. I did a complete uninstall of 7.4 HD also. It is an intermittent problem. I move pretty fast when editing and use hot keys not the operation buttons on the top of the edit window. So for me it is when I am using command and [ ].

Glad to see I'm not the only one. Please digi fix this bug!!!!!

(all my plugs are up to date.)
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature request -post fader inserts on tracks/aux Sonsey Post - Surround - Video 15 07-13-2018 08:22 PM
Anyone know how to de-prioritize the video window? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-13-2004 02:37 AM
Tired of LE for post work... DChung Post - Surround - Video 2 01-20-2003 09:36 PM
Post Scoring Feature Request tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-18-2002 05:38 PM
I'm getting tired of this Digi. Listen up. Craig Learmont Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 02-17-2001 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com