Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-19-2021, 04:25 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Hi Eddie,

I'm a bit lost. It's not getting better.
I ordered another WiFi Router, maybe that helps.


Best
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2021.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2021, 07:17 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Please report back once you have the new router installed.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-26-2021, 03:50 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Hi Eddie,

I tried another router, but the LAN connection is still unstable. It seems, that WiFi connction is much more stable.
Can you suggest an USB-LAN adapter that is reliable?

Thanks.


Best
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2021.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-26-2021, 08:36 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Whats wrong with using Wifi?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-27-2021, 04:09 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Hi Eddie,

there is nothing wrong with wifi in general.
But I would have liked to use a lan connection and reduce the number of wifis in our studio.
I thought, that a lan connection would be much more stable, but the opposite seems to be the case.


Best
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2021.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-27-2021, 06:57 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

It should be better yes!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-09-2021, 10:14 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Just a short update...
Got a new, very fast wifi-router. Control (iPad Air2) ist connected via 5G wifi.
It runs stable for most of the time, but occasionally short interruptions happen.
Then all eucon units are disordered for a short time and are loosing their fixed fader setup.
That's not really satisfying in the middle of a mix/recording.

Best
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2021.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-09-2021, 10:35 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Quote:
Originally Posted by marsian View Post
Just a short update...
Got a new, very fast wifi-router. Control (iPad Air2) ist connected via 5G wifi.
It runs stable for most of the time, but occasionally short interruptions happen.
Then all eucon units are disordered for a short time and are loosing their fixed fader setup.
That's not really satisfying in the middle of a mix/recording.

Best
Maik
Did you check all the settings and things listed on this help page? https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ontrol-Support

This is not normal for the Tablet to disconnect. If any surfaces disconnect then yes EuControl has to reconfigure itself.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-14-2021, 01:59 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Hi Eddie,

I double checked all settings. Everything looked good.
After some time of observation, I discovered that not the iPad seems to be the problem, but the two S1 and the dock are disconnecting for a short time.
I have no idea what causes this.


Best
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2021.3, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.6, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-14-2021, 10:38 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: S1/DOCK/Control loose connection every now and then...

Are you sure. If you run without the tablet on, does it still happen?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommended ethernet switch for Artist and Dock Connection sjgam Artist Series 5 10-19-2018 09:09 AM
Control App with Dock Connection Question sjgam Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 10-19-2018 08:12 AM
Some Faders or Buttons Randomly Loose Connection Barry Johns ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 06-14-2014 01:40 PM
MBOX 2 USB connection Loose! help mfaktr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-06-2008 12:04 PM
Orig MBox Loose USB Connection. Any Suggestions? Matt Foglia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-22-2007 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com