Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2013, 04:07 PM
mickc mickc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 21
Default iLok Activation Questions

Hello,
I'm looking for some help with my iLok.

I privately purchased a version of PT10 with an iLok that was supposedly never registered. When I told the seller the iLok was registered, he said he started accounts with iLok and Avid but never registered the software. He gave me his iLok account info and I was able to get into the iLok and saw it was empty of any licenses. He bought the program from Studica and gave me the activation code they supplied but it didn't work.

How do I get PT to activate the iLok. How do I talk to someone without having to pay? Is it possible?

There's nothing illegal or illegitamate about this transaction. In fact, I just sold my MBox 2 and PT8le privately. I did fill out the tranfer of ownership papers and included them with sale.

Any help or thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2013, 04:23 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: iLok Activation Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickc View Post
Hello,
I'm looking for some help with my iLok.

I privately purchased a version of PT10 with an iLok that was supposedly never registered. When I told the seller the iLok was registered, he said he started accounts with iLok and Avid but never registered the software. He gave me his iLok account info and I was able to get into the iLok and saw it was empty of any licenses. He bought the program from Studica and gave me the activation code they supplied but it didn't work.

How do I get PT to activate the iLok. How do I talk to someone without having to pay? Is it possible?

There's nothing illegal or illegitamate about this transaction. In fact, I just sold my MBox 2 and PT8le privately. I did fill out the tranfer of ownership papers and included them with sale.

Any help or thoughts?
There is good reason to suspect there *is* something illegitimate about this transaction.

The license agreement prohibits a transfer of an academic license unless required by other laws. Are you even a qualified student or teacher?--not that I see how Avid, Studica would gets involved to verify that. I would hope Avid/iLok just blocks transfer of ownership of academic licenses. By giving you access to his account and the registration paperwork this might be an attempt to circumvent that (even if you separately qualify - I suspect Avid would want you should purchase from Studica yourself).

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2013, 05:00 PM
mickc mickc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: iLok Activation Questions

I hear what you're saying. The seller did not share the fact that it was a student version. I even mentioned it in our first conversation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2013, 05:04 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: iLok Activation Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickc View Post
I hear what you're saying. The seller did not share the fact that it was a student version. I even mentioned it in our first conversation.
Yes, you are in an unfortunate position. The moment it looked like a student version you should have asked for your money back. Talk to the seller and ask now. If this was an EBay or Craigslist transaction you have the option of reporting the seller there.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2013, 05:51 PM
mickc mickc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: iLok Activation Questions

Thanks Darryl!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok activation error? Chingy Pro Tools 11 41 10-06-2014 07:04 PM
iLok activation doesn't work Sonic-B Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 06-26-2011 06:34 PM
7.4.2. LE and ilok activation confusion malkyg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-06-2009 04:58 PM
More activation questions GaryC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-22-2009 11:10 AM
ILOK Activation for Pro Tools HD CGreene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-29-2006 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com