Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2011, 04:29 PM
dwaldi dwaldi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7
Default PT8 | HD Quicktime Video Stuck Randomly

Hey guys,

I did a search and couldn't find this exact problem mentioned anywhere, so I figured it's worth a shot.

System is a version 3,1 8-core Mac Pro, 6gigs RAM, HD 5 DSP system. Mac OS 10.6.6, PT 8.0.4. When online, the system chases SMTPE time generated by a Rosendahl MIF3 box.

The problem is that for no apparent reason, Quicktime video (coming out of the second DVI port on the Mac Pro) will freeze on a frame while the audio keeps going. Pro Tools has to be restarted in order to fix it. This has never happened in the past.

Some details: The video is 960x540 @ 23.976fps. H264, no audio imported from the video.

Things I've tried:

Trashed PT prefs and databases, deleted Quicktime preferences, changed Host Processor setting to 7 @ 90%, reimported video.

Any help is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2011, 04:36 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT8 | HD Quicktime Video Stuck Randomly

convert the H264 to something like photojpeg
H264 can kill the CPU
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2011, 04:53 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 708
Default Re: PT8 | HD Quicktime Video Stuck Randomly

H.264 usually works fine, but if you were gonna try a different codec I'd recommend uncompressed DV, it has the lightest load on the CPU.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video randomly does not play during record musicelect Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 06-16-2015 04:58 AM
Video randomly stops playing back rnd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-23-2011 11:34 AM
Pro tools, Video randomly stops playing Frontman Music Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 08-31-2010 12:29 AM
VIDEO WINDOW STUCK stellb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-24-2008 01:31 PM
pro tools and video--turning video into a quicktime movie? ncw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-01-2008 12:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com