Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2007, 08:15 AM
Dorian27 Dorian27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Default Virtual Instruments

I am looking for some good virtual instruments. I am specifically at the moment looking for piano. I was thinking about "Ivory" by synthology or Art Vista's "Virtual Grand Piano". Steinway Galaxy 5.1 looks nice too.

Is anyone out there using any of these with PT?

I do not have any other virtual instruments. Would I need any kind of engine to run these or is that included? Or is it not neccessary in a RTAS format?

Thanks for your thoughts in advance!
__________________
Dorian27
Asus Sabertooth X79 LGA2011
Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (8X4GB)
Corsair HX750
Cooler Master Haf Advanced Blue
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-18-2007, 09:17 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

I use and recommend Ivory. It installs as a plugin and a standalone application and you don't need any other software to make it run.

You might want to consider storing the samples on a separate hard drive, though.

Both the Art Vista and the Steinway Galaxy rely on the Kontakt sample player (which is included with both products), but IMHO, the Kontakt player is a little "if-y" when it comes to Pro Tools.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:02 AM
Dorian27 Dorian27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

Thank you Spkguitar I appreciate the info. I did like the "Ivory" clips that I heard.

When you suggest storing the audio sampled on a seperate hard drive, do you mean where PT is not stored, or where my songs are not stored, like on an external drive. Right now PT is on my C drive, My recordings are on the D drive, which I was going to move to an external as they become finished.

Thanks again
__________________
Dorian27
Asus Sabertooth X79 LGA2011
Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (8X4GB)
Corsair HX750
Cooler Master Haf Advanced Blue
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:18 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

Quote:
do you mean where PT is not stored, or where my songs are not stored,
Both.

System drive = where programs reside; gets used by the operating system and other programs often.

Pro Tools sessions drive = used to store Pro Tools sessions. usually only used by Pro Tools to stream audio to and from the program

Samples Drive = to store sample libraries. Most modern samplers stream the audio from the drive on an as-needed basis. When using larger sample libraries (like Ivory), this requires heavy use of the drive. If the sample libraries are stored on the system drive, this may cause interference with the system or other programs' performance. If the libraries are stored on the session drive, the streaming may cause interruption in Pro Tools performance as it tries to stream audio tracks from the sessions from the drive.

You can store the sample libraries on the system drive; they will work fine there. But you will have better performance, and be able to set the sampler software (Ivory, BFD, and others) to a higher quality if you use a separate drive to store the samples that the sampler uses. The programs themselves get installed to the system drive, but the audio samples that they use to produce sound are stored on a separate drive. It can be an internal or external drive (firewire with the oxford 911 chipset recommended for externals).

Does that make sense?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-18-2007, 10:53 AM
cherryrecording cherryrecording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

Another vote for Ivory. There is a good article comparing virtual pianos here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2007, 07:32 AM
Dorian27 Dorian27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

Yes it does makes sense thank you. I was thinking of an external hard drive since I need to get one anyways.

Do sessions run as well on an external HD? I'm thinking I might just put the sample library on my D drive and start doing my sessions on an external (instead of having to move them over when I'm done.)
__________________
Dorian27
Asus Sabertooth X79 LGA2011
Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (8X4GB)
Corsair HX750
Cooler Master Haf Advanced Blue
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:06 PM
Dorian27 Dorian27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

Someone recommended that I check out "Akoustic Piano" by Native Instruments. Also looks very nice. Has anyone had any experience with this program. Looks essentially like the Ivory.
__________________
Dorian27
Asus Sabertooth X79 LGA2011
Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (8X4GB)
Corsair HX750
Cooler Master Haf Advanced Blue
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2007, 09:39 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

The article that cherryrecording linked you to has an in depth comparison. They seem to favor Akoustik Piano over the Ivory, and they include audio samples.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2007, 12:13 PM
Dorian27 Dorian27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 61
Default Re: Virtual Instruments

I finally had the chance to read the entire article on virtual pianos. A great resource for anyone currently looking at virtual piano pakages.
Thank you much for that link cherry.
__________________
Dorian27
Asus Sabertooth X79 LGA2011
Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6Ghz
Corsair Vengeance 32GB (8X4GB)
Corsair HX750
Cooler Master Haf Advanced Blue
ZALMAN CNPS9900MAX-B 135mm CPU Cooler
Windows 7 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Instruments Black Day Pro Tools 10 8 02-14-2013 09:14 AM
AIR virtual instruments Robert Todd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-11-2011 01:15 PM
Looking for some HOT Virtual Instruments wearetheniceguys.com Virtual Instruments 8 03-13-2010 01:53 PM
Where have all my Virtual Instruments gone? stu2469 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-28-2005 08:45 AM
virtual instruments Stu Windle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-25-2002 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com