Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2007, 02:56 PM
Sebster Sebster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default Midi staff notation help...

Hey,

Ive just purchased an Mbox 2 Pro and am having some trouble with Pro Tools le. Could someone point me in the direction where I can find the notation staff for midi? I generally like to drag and drop notes in and cant find how to get the staff up to do this.

If someone could help me with this I would really appreciate it.
cheers
Seb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2007, 01:01 PM
Elwood54 Elwood54 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 13
Default Re: Midi staff notation help...

Hi Seb,

I assume you want to enter MIDI type notes using conventional music notation. I'm also a new PTLE user, and was disappointed to find that I couldn't work this way in PTLE, even though the GarageBand program that came free on my Mac supports music entry and editing in either grid or notation views. The reason I went with PTLE is because GB can't export MIDI files. My current workaround is to enter music using conventional music notation with Finale PrintMusic, export that to MIDI, then import that MIDI file into PTLE. It would be great if a future release of PTLE supported viewing and editing MIDI or instrument tracks in notation view, as well as the grid view. I hope I understood your question correctly, and that this was helpful.
__________________
Dual G5, MacBook Pro, PTLE 7.3 with Mbox 2, Fender Jazz bass guitar, golden retriever
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2007, 07:39 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Midi staff notation help...

Quote:
notation staff
That's because there isn't one, although, you can export to Sibelius and back again.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8 BUG Notation view staff order does not update PTcomposer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-26-2009 11:20 PM
midi writing in "staff" view (stave) shutiri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-16-2007 06:16 PM
How do I look at my midi as notes on a staff? elvidge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-29-2006 11:34 AM
Can I convert my MIDI to notation? Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-17-2006 01:44 PM
Midi Notation Software for MAC bugsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-15-2001 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com