Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-15-2022, 10:55 AM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 220
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
I’ve been using an M1 Mac Mini 16GB 512HD for paying clients for about a year and a half without any issues. Non HDX. Post Production mixing and editing and recording. I’d say that is solid real world “testing” and it just works.
Great to know this, I know a professional studio which have the M1 Mac Mini as their main computer.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-15-2022, 01:52 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
Great to know this, I know a professional studio which have the M1 Mac Mini as their main computer.
The biggest area of limitation I run into is the 16GB of RAM. I wish it had more. On bigger sessions with lots of plugs I tend to reach near the max limit for RAM usage. Therefore, depending on your type of projects just keep this in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-15-2022, 02:01 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

M1 mini 16GB 1TB ssd runs PT HDX2 without issues for editing but for very long recording sessions after a while the record buffering takes a long time like a sec or two
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-19-2022, 11:54 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 109
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Stop talking about M1, it is Apple Slilicon.

I have M1 mini here as a testbed and M2 air ordered. Both fully loaded, and both useless in PRO session as without native software risks are still too high.
One of the largest producers of original live entertainment on the planet would disagree.

We’ve several worldwide in all sorts of mission critical apps including large PT sessions. No problem. Some Minis but mostly M1 Pro, Max or Ultra. Those are 4 noticeably different performance levels particularly with video. We started integrating them about a year or so ago once shows started opening again. We kicked it up a notch with some MBPs and again once the Studio came out.

There are issues in some instances but there are/were issues from time to time on older rigs as well. Anecdotally there aren’t any more (or fewer) issues for our workflows. It’s generally a reboot that solves it.

While some people’s workflows or configurations can be problematic calling Apple Silocon “useless” for Pro Tools or pro A/V in general is being poorly informed. What matters is the specific hardware, tasks and workflow to consider if a machine is suitable. Just like it’s been the entire history of DAWs let alone Pro Tools.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2022, 03:59 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 899
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
The biggest area of limitation I run into is the 16GB of RAM. I wish it had more. On bigger sessions with lots of plugs I tend to reach near the max limit for RAM usage. Therefore, depending on your type of projects just keep this in mind.
Surely just freeze some tracks if you run into any limitation with VIs. It is so quick and can be undone again in a second.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.6.2
PT 2022.10

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-20-2022, 05:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
One of the largest producers of original live entertainment on the planet would disagree.
Alright, let me rephrase. Apple Silicon is not yet bulletproof, so if your workflow cannot stand a single hiccup, it is not yet ready for you. Fine?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-20-2022, 08:12 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Alright, let me rephrase. Apple Silicon is not yet bulletproof, so if your workflow cannot stand a single hiccup, it is not yet ready for you. Fine?
Right, cuz every Intel machine comes without hiccups
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-20-2022, 11:35 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 899
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Alright, let me rephrase. Apple Silicon is not yet bulletproof, so if your workflow cannot stand a single hiccup, it is not yet ready for you. Fine?
Monterey and Pro Tools 2021.12 has been the most reliable setup I have ever had in 15 years. That is why I resist updating for now.

The M1 system is incredible and I have had 8 Macs with both native and card based Pro Tools.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.6.2
PT 2022.10

Mac Pro Quad Core
OS 10.8
PT9HD
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-20-2022, 12:16 PM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 278
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

I've been running my Mac Studio Max through its paces with 500 track sessions without issue. PTU 2022.7.0 running smoothly here.
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2022 Mac Studio Max 64GB / 1TB, macOSX 12.6.3, 2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 12.6.3, PT Ulti 2022.12.0, Atmos Production Suite 3.7, MDA Creator1.5, Rx10 Advanced, Ozone 10 Advanced, Kontakt 7, Soundminer v5Pro, Spanner 3, PaulXStretch,
EuControl 2022.12.0, Avid Control 2022.12.0, Avid S1, iPad Pros 12.9" gen 3 & gen 4, Apollo 8 Duo, UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 8 56TB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-21-2022, 12:57 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 220
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thin ice View Post
Monterey and Pro Tools 2021.12 has been the most reliable setup I have ever had in 15 years. That is why I resist updating for now.

The M1 system is incredible and I have had 8 Macs with both native and card based Pro Tools.
Totally agree, I am blown away with the Mac Mini, and its the cheapest computer I have ever bought!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 07:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 11:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 09:04 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com