Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Old 01-23-2022, 11:42 AM

Default MBox 3 (not pro or mini) Input Two Stopped Working

Background:

Dear all, I have an MBox 3 (not the pro or the mini), and I have been using it now for a couple of months, connected to a small Alan and Heath mixer for my collection of five Synthesizers. It has been working well since installing it a couple of months ago until just recently.

Issue:

Recently, I temporarily repurposed the MBox 3 as a microphone amplifier on channel one (with 48v phantom power the mic needed) and it worked well; I used it with OBS Studio to narrate a video. Upon attempting to put it back to use on my synthesizers, I noticed channel two is no longer working properly. Now channel two barely picks up sound at all, and only if the input is on full (with soft instrument selected) I get a terribly distorted and intermittent signal at best and more commonly mostly nothing.

The MBox software confirms this. Chanel 2 if connected to microphone with phantom power using an XLR cable, or being connected to a synthesizer via a jack plug exhibits the aforementioned problems while channel one works just fine.

I'm running Windows 10, I have an intel 4790K quad core i7, and I have the most recent drivers installed (it says package 1.110 with firmware 1.0.8). I have the monitor outs going to a stereo amplifier and had the digital outs and ins going to a Lexicon FX Processor.

Thanks for reading. Help.
Old 01-23-2022, 12:14 PM

Default Re: MBox 3 (not pro or mini) Input Two Stopped Working

hi Welcome to DUC.