Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:43 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 220
Default M1 computer ok?

I am getting a new Mac Mini M1 this week, is it compatible with Pro Tools 2022.7? or do I need do something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:48 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,456
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
I am getting a new Mac Mini M1 this week, is it compatible with Pro Tools 2022.7? or do I need do something?
Protools 2022.6 & 2022.7 are compatible with Apple Silicon (M1, M2, M1Pro, M1Max, and M1Ultra) BUT, It is not native. It is running under Rosetta2, an Intel translator. It still performs well. There are still some third party plugins that are not compatible with Apple Silicon.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:50 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 220
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Protools 2022.6 & 2022.7 are compatible with Apple Silicon (M1, M2, M1Pro, M1Max, and M1Ultra) BUT, It is not native. It is running under Rosetta2, an Intel translator. It still performs well. There are still some third party plugins that are not compatible with Apple Silicon.
Thank you, where do I get Rosetta2 from?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2022, 05:40 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,456
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

It is included with macOS (I think starting with Big Sur but it might have been there earlier). No need to "get" it. It is already in the operating system looking for any Intel code to run.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2022, 10:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,543
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

As said, it is good to go for testing and such, but I would not recommend putting it into action with paying customer waiting for results.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2022, 11:08 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

especially if you are running HDX. it works but it doesn't feel extremely solid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2022, 12:16 PM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 278
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

I've been running my Mac Studio Max through its paces with 500 track sessions without issue. PTU 2022.7.0 running smoothly here.
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2022 Mac Studio Max 64GB / 1TB, macOSX 12.6.3, 2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 12.6.3, PT Ulti 2022.12.0, Atmos Production Suite 3.7, MDA Creator1.5, Rx10 Advanced, Ozone 10 Advanced, Kontakt 7, Soundminer v5Pro, Spanner 3, PaulXStretch,
EuControl 2022.12.0, Avid Control 2022.12.0, Avid S1, iPad Pros 12.9" gen 3 & gen 4, Apollo 8 Duo, UAD-2 Satellite Quad, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 8 56TB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 07:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 11:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 09:04 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com