Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2022, 08:52 PM
QuakerOffroad QuakerOffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5
Default Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Iím Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)

And a Presonus Digimax 8 channel pre with light pipe to use for drumming mics and running the mix for drums down one light pipe to the protools rig

I own a G5 PCIe model M9590 Dual core 2.0

https://everymac.com/systems/apple/p..._dual_2.0.html

Can I make this G5 work well? Do I need an expansion chassis for this Mac or should I use a newer Mac Tower and which ones work best with the old system Iím putting together.

Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)


Any advice on additional pieces to pick up to make the system work? Well would be most appreciated. Iím not clear if I need a PCI-e expansion box too or not ??

Thanks!
Quaker Off-roader
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2022, 02:17 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 793
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Get a 2009 4,1 or 2010 5,1 Mac Pro, should work well with your hardware components
__________________
MP 5,1 12core 3.46ghz 96GB
PT Ultimate HDX, Logic, DP, VEPro

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIA...Rnu0Jfh-YsgftQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2022, 03:14 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,532
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

What are you trying to do?

Is the ability to monitor through TDM plugins really worth putting up with all this old gear? To put up with 32-bit memory limits? And not having all the other features of modern Pro Tools? Or better sounding converters in modern interfaces?

Why not just buy a CoreAudio interface and a modern Apple silicon Mac and a current version of Pro Tools Studio (not Ultimate)?

If you really want to do this start by throwing that Power Mac as far as you can.

If I had fallen and hit my head and was going to build this as a tracking rig I would get a later model Intel Cheesegrater as suggested above. Maybe upgrade the CPU(s). Get the latest boot ROM images in it, add SSD/NVMe boot drives in PCIe slot adapters (I cannot recall the PCIe slot configs, you have to check slot budgets). Might install a USB 3.x card if needed. Maybe update the GPU, install the last version of Pro Tools 10 HD on it (and running the latest version of macOS supported/easy to install, buy a used HD 10 license. Work out what TDM Intel plugins you can still purchase/obtain. Etc.

Or sell all that museumware on eBay and buy a nice little third party CoreAudio interface and a new Apple silicon Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2022, 03:54 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,855
Default Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If I had fallen and hit my head and was going to build this as a tracking rig...
HAHAHAHA!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2022, 03:34 PM
QuakerOffroad QuakerOffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Iím trying to set up a decent quality tracking system for 16 tracks or more to donate to a youth organization for musicians in our city.

I do think that having young people work through the challenges of using an older TDM system will only give them better skills if they can get their hands on a more modern tracking system.

It would be for tracking, live music, not sampling, and all other elements of music production.

I donít have the fiscal resources to donate a modern system as is being described. I do think itís reasonable to affordably put together 16 tracks of a TDM system. Please let me know if this is not correct.

Thanks!
Quaker Off-road


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)


Any advice on additional pieces to pick up to make the system work? Well would be most appreciated. Iím not clear if I need a PCI-e expansion box too or not ??

Thanks!
Quaker Off-roader
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2023, 05:42 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,620
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuakerOffroad View Post
I’m Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)

And a Presonus Digimax 8 channel pre with light pipe to use for drumming mics and running the mix for drums down one light pipe to the protools rig

I own a G5 PCIe model M9590 Dual core 2.0

https://everymac.com/systems/apple/p..._dual_2.0.html

Can I make this G5 work well? Do I need an expansion chassis for this Mac or should I use a newer Mac Tower and which ones work best with the old system I’m putting together.

Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PT9 is not PPC compatible. You will not get that version of PT to work with your G5. Get a Mac Pro 4.1 or a 5.1, the proper Mac OS which I think is Snow Leopard and that should all work.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2023, 07:01 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,717
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

Hi, welcome to the community.

Just that you know, low post count and tapatalk is a troublesome combination. Please only post once, the post goes to manual approval for now.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2023, 07:15 AM
QuakerOffroad QuakerOffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

s.d Finley Thanks! I was able pick up a better option off EBay. Next I should have the following Apple tower in hand to work with:

Apple Mac Pro A1289 Quad Core Xeon W3540 2.93GHz, 2 x 500GB HDD 32GB RAM

I believe this one meets the requirements you described.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)


Any advice on additional pieces to pick up to make the system work? Well would be most appreciated. Iím not clear if I need a PCI-e expansion box too or not ??

Thanks!
Quaker Off-roader
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2023, 12:41 AM
QuakerOffroad QuakerOffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

I picked up a very reasonably priced Mac Pro 4,1 with 32 GB memory and two 500 gb drives.

I just tried to install the HD core card and the other two cards but the Available width is about 1/2 to 1 inch too narrow to install the 3 PCI-e style cards. Iíll start googling , but I am IMG_6937.jpg
assuming the slots in the Mac Pro 4,1 are not going to work with my HD PCI-e cards.

Thanks for any help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)


Any advice on additional pieces to pick up to make the system work? Well would be most appreciated. Iím not clear if I need a PCI-e expansion box too or not ??

Thanks!
Quaker Off-roader
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-20-2023, 06:51 PM
QuakerOffroad QuakerOffroad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5
Default Re: Which Mac Tower is best for the TDM parts I have now?

I posted a question about why the PCIe Protools cards were so long and not fitting. I found the answer to that question and the unique way the 2209/2010 Mac Pro towers have their fans move to accommodate the very long Protools cards.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Looking for the best Apple tower to run with the following TDM bits I have been collecting: PCIe cards ( HD Core, HD Accel, and Accel Core). Two Avid 96 I/O 8x8 units, Protools HD 9, and a stack of memory and two cards to expand it with (4GB 2RX4 and some 2GB 2RX4)


Any advice on additional pieces to pick up to make the system work? Well would be most appreciated. Iím not clear if I need a PCI-e expansion box too or not ??

Thanks!
Quaker Off-roader
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new mac tower Lazza Getting Started 26 07-06-2020 05:53 AM
i move some parts then parts are unmuted... montreal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 05-08-2010 05:56 AM
Committing midi parts to audio. All parts ahead of bar line sad1robot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-25-2010 01:09 AM
best G4 tower for 002 ? dente123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-19-2003 10:05 AM
Anyone with a Power Tower pro 225/SVP...PLEASE HELP noize General Discussion 3 12-21-1999 05:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com