Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2014, 01:53 AM
Kinh Kinh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 374
Default How long does komplete 9 ultimate take to install?

I hear its usb2. Anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2014, 08:21 AM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Qld - Australia (Ex Bali)
Posts: 811
Default Re: How long does komplete 9 ultimate take to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kinh View Post
I hear its usb2. Anyone know?
I see you got no reply , Have you gotten around to installing yours yet ? How long did it take you ???

I just bought komplete 9 Ultimate myself , but I wont be able to get my hands on it for another 3-4 weeks yet


Im guessing installation wont take long at all , and i,m also guessing that most time will be taken up will be in authorizing all those VI's that come bundled with it, especially on my ridiculously super slow internet.
Then you will need to tell each V,I the location of the samples ..., as like everything else ive installed , the default location for your sample library will be on your operating systems drive.


Also , that included hard drive that contains the sample library is 500 GB (usb2) I hope its disc speed is 7200rpm and not 5000rpm

Either way , you would be nuts not to Back up that hard drive immediately , which contains those 320GB of samples (Ill be making 2 backups myself)
(preferably on a USB3 7200rpm , or better still SSD or better , as its not recommended to install the samples on your operating system I hear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-26-2014, 03:34 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,443
Default Re: How long does komplete 9 ultimate take to install?

Allocate 2-5 hrs depending on your drives and how prepared they are.
Updates and those installs.
Testing and scanning...

The USB2 drive is certainly an incentive Vs the non-ultimate way.
Fast internet is also a plus for updates.

Service Center has matured into a nice license manage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2014, 06:54 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,879
Default Re: How long does komplete 9 ultimate take to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seafoam_Green View Post
I see you got no reply , Have you gotten around to installing yours yet ? How long did it take you ???

I just bought komplete 9 Ultimate myself , but I wont be able to get my hands on it for another 3-4 weeks yet


Im guessing installation wont take long at all , and i,m also guessing that most time will be taken up will be in authorizing all those VI's that come bundled with it, especially on my ridiculously super slow internet.
Then you will need to tell each V,I the location of the samples ..., as like everything else ive installed , the default location for your sample library will be on your operating systems drive.


Also , that included hard drive that contains the sample library is 500 GB (usb2) I hope its disc speed is 7200rpm and not 5000rpm

Either way , you would be nuts not to Back up that hard drive immediately , which contains those 320GB of samples (Ill be making 2 backups myself)
(preferably on a USB3 7200rpm , or better still SSD or better , as its not recommended to install the samples on your operating system I hear.
With USB2 it's going to take a long time but not quite as long as the dvd version. And the authorization will not take anywhere near as long as the install. What will take time is the download of the updates as what's on the drive will NOT be the latest version of anything.

You don't have to tell each vi where things are installed. Be careful when doing the install as this step is easy to miss but you do have the option of placing the sample content wherever you want during the install and any vi's that use the sample content will automatically find the content.

And don't be surprised if you have problems with the supplied drive as there have been a rash of problems, a lot of which were due to poor seating of the USB2 cable to the USB2 connector on the drive. And a few unfortunate souls have had outright bad drives.

Oh yeah - when you get the updates downloaded from the Service Center save those off to a hard drive so you'll have them in case you need to do an emergency reinstall of anything and your internet goes down.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2014, 07:18 PM
Seafoam_Green's Avatar
Seafoam_Green Seafoam_Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Qld - Australia (Ex Bali)
Posts: 811
Default Re: How long does komplete 9 ultimate take to install?

great tips and info guys ..., cheers ,
- its good to get a pre-prep insight into what ends up being a rather large install.
Very grateful , thx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Komplete 9 Ultimate install problems musicman691 Virtual Instruments 5 01-06-2014 04:57 PM
Komplete 8 Ultimate tystick420 Pro Tools 11 10 07-07-2013 03:28 PM
How to add Komplete 8 Ultimate into Pro Tools 10 LE Ryan Tunis Pro Tools 10 3 02-02-2012 03:13 PM
Considering KOMPLETE 8 Ultimate but $1000?? wearetheniceguys.com Virtual Instruments 3 01-22-2012 09:40 AM
Komplete 8 Ultimate paldry macOS 1 12-06-2011 08:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com