Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2005, 06:27 AM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default booting from CD results in freeze

I am working on a mirror door G4 867 DP with mix+, has 768 megs of ram. Apparently no firmware update is needed.

Right now os 9 and os 10.2 are installed on the system drive, both of them boot fine.

I have the original 10.2 installation CDs and a 10.3.2 retail package.

If I just launch the installer in os 9, an error message says it failed to boot from CD. When booting from the CDs (10.2 or 10.3), it holds at the grey screen with the grey wheel spinning. and once it made it to a blue screen with a 'preparing installation volume' after 10 minutes, but saw no change afterwards.

Can I install from os 10.2 onto a partitioned volume if I have the passcode, or do i still need to boot from the installer? Any advice in dealing with the install CDs would be appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2005, 12:37 PM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default Re: booting from CD results in freeze

Somebody on the apple forum is telling me to remove all third party cards and RAM and then boot from the CD. I am really hesitant to go that route obviously - a real mess.

any truth to that?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2005, 10:55 PM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default Re: booting from CD results in freeze

nobody has ever experienced this problem?

pfffftt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2005, 02:28 AM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: booting from CD results in freeze

My thoughts are OS9 (full install ?) and OS X residing on the same partition is pretty big trouble for many functions, including booting off an OS disk, of a different version from both installed versions.

If I'm wrong about this, and your only OS9 on the same volume as OSX is "classic mode" OR you have your system drive partitioned, 1 volume with OS9, the other with OSX, then ignore all i have written above.

do the obvious, which i'm sure you've done, repair and verify permissions AND disk.
try booting from the OS X CD by holding "C" with the installed OSX volume selected as the startup volume, AS WELL, if fails, with OS 9 selected as the startup volume, lastly, Without holding "C", try selecting the CD as the Startup disk, in your system preferences dialog.

OSX can be a little funny, booting onto a CD with a lower version OS, then what you are currently running on the installed OS, after updates... i have heard of this causing conflicts before.

of course, if you've lots of drives kicking around, you can make an Image of your OS drive, erase the drive, format it, and try a "fresh install" of OSX - to tell you if it is in fact what I said above, an OS conflict.

there are several ways to trouble shoot this problem, all involve time consumption.

let us know how you're making out.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:46 AM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 198
Default Re: booting from CD results in freeze

you need to upgrade to the latest os 9 system which is 9.22 first..then reinstall panther...

then boot from the CD

usually during the installation process, especially on a slower mac..
os x takes time to install.

what also has to be taken into acount is that it is running off the CD which is considerably slower than a hard drive..
just let the OS do its thing.

if all else fails..erase and reinstall everything
nothing is worse than an unstable OS

you should be able to boot off your CD with no problem.

if after that you still have the same problem..then it's a hardware problem or a bad CD

good luck
__________________
spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 HD (Cursor Freeze/Playback Freeze) vinlance Pro Tools 10 1 07-13-2013 12:40 PM
Booting an 192 i/o aux Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-16-2009 09:10 AM
PT 7.0.4 NOT BOOTING PROPERLY ! Lulash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-21-2006 01:32 AM
Booting from a USB HDD oedipus_complex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-08-2004 02:38 AM
booting with xp mooda 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-11-2002 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com