Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-06-2021, 11:54 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 339
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
Appreciate the info. Can you clarify if you can send SPDIF to say a Clarity but still able to receive ADAT on the inputs!?
From the updated manual:

"Optical In Format (Detected)
Pro Tools | Carbon automatically detects the digital format of the incoming signal on optical ports 1 and 2.(labeled ADAT In 1 and 2 on the back panel). The detected format is displayed for each port: ADAT, S/PDIF, or N/A.

Optical Out Format
Pro Tools | Carbon provides two pairs of optical in and out ports (labeled ADAT Out 1 and 2 on the back panel). The Optical I/O page of the Hardware Setup lets you set the digital format of each output port to either ADAT or Optical S/PDIF. When set to ADAT, each port provides up to 8 channels of digital audio depending on the sample rate. When set to Optical S/PDIF, each port provides up to 2 channels of digital audio up to 96 kHz."
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-06-2021, 11:55 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,956
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Yes, but without having a Carbon here, I am interested in this very important detail: IS IT POSSIBLE to output SPDIF optical outside of PT software or is it PT only?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-06-2021, 12:07 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 565
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, but without having a Carbon here, I am interested in this very important detail: IS IT POSSIBLE to output SPDIF optical outside of PT software or is it PT only?
Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-06-2021, 12:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,956
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.
So this works even if you use another DAW?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-06-2021, 01:47 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 565
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
So this works even if you use another DAW?
Yes.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-07-2021, 08:35 AM
digiot digiot is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 360
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
From the updated manual:

"Optical In Format (Detected)
Pro Tools | Carbon automatically detects the digital format of the incoming signal on optical ports 1 and 2.(labeled ADAT In 1 and 2 on the back panel). The detected format is displayed for each port: ADAT, S/PDIF, or N/A.

Optical Out Format
Pro Tools | Carbon provides two pairs of optical in and out ports (labeled ADAT Out 1 and 2 on the back panel). The Optical I/O page of the Hardware Setup lets you set the digital format of each output port to either ADAT or Optical S/PDIF. When set to ADAT, each port provides up to 8 channels of digital audio depending on the sample rate. When set to Optical S/PDIF, each port provides up to 2 channels of digital audio up to 96 kHz."
Thanks for clarifying that’s exciting news! I’m still holding off on the update because of the “connection loss” issues people have been reporting.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:02 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,617
Default Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:19 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,617
Default Re: Q regarding how to connect TC Clarity M

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Yes, outside of PT as well. PT Hardware Setup just allows you to select which format you want for the optical output ports.
Thanks for all your input but can Kyle or eddie for example show me how to as the page setup in carbon the left 2 boxes says N/A in Carborn page weather i set the right boxes to any of the choices. The 2 left boxes where I presume I should be able to chose adat/aes/spdif says N/A so where am i missing a setting? In PT or Audio-midi setup or where?

Thanks

Removed my older thread as it didn’t work with the old version but should be working now with new Carbon Firmware and PT2021.10

Here is the new post I wrote today and this shouldn’t be sooo difficult!

Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-09-2021, 08:42 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,530
Default Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

TC Clarity M stereo only accepts SPDIF signal (not ADAT)

To change what the Carbon is sending, in Pro Tools, go to Hardware Setup, Optical I/O page.



Switch this to S/PDIF
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2021.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • S1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-09-2021, 09:05 AM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 565
Default Re: Can anyone do a step by step on using the optical as adat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Been trying to get our two TC Clarity M stereo units working now when the Optical ports on Carbon is supposed to work as adat/spdif and I connected one optican from the TC to Carbon optical port and I dont know where to change the settings in the software and or PTultimate as I cant get the TC to get a connection green light. Been called by support but as time difference seem to be 9 hrs we were in the middle of tracking so my phone wasn’t even on so I really understand why people get green in their face grying to get and help with a 4000 dollar interface and mind you we bought 2 Carbon and with conversion it is about 9700-10.000 USD for both so please can eddie or someone else who knows this help please!? Been helping you (Avid) for 8-9 years so Think I am entitled to 5 minutes of your time?
Check out Page 19 of What’s New guide which has the relevant Optical S/PDIF routing info. Ensure that the ADAT OUT port you’re connecting the optical cable to on Carbon is configured for S/PDIF in Hardware Setup.

What's the Input Mode (2) set to on the Clarity's System page? I'm looking at Page 15 in the guide and looks like you may be able to switch that between AES and S/PDIF. But, I have never used the Clarity device so I don't know how it needs to be configured.
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Senior Principal Product Designer
Avid
Berkeley, CA
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TC Clarity X antonis Post - Surround - Video 0 05-02-2018 10:32 AM
TC Clarity M priorytools Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 1 09-08-2016 02:10 PM
Is anyone using Clarity X? antonis Post - Surround - Video 0 03-08-2016 07:15 AM
Mic clarity bannerj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-21-2004 10:07 AM
Clarity in mixes citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 29 06-20-2002 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com