Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2003, 01:40 AM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default FW800 options

hey.

i need a new drive. i was looking for firewire 800.

granite says they wont release anything till november. so that rules out getting one of their case and a cheap drive.

the other two options i see are OWC and EZquest.
the question is which. OWC offers an 8MB buffer, does that actually do anything? and it has that evil wall wart. EZquest has an internal PSU with fans... but has 2MB buffers, and their case is butt ugly.

any other options out there that people are buying into? though the ezquest at 250 doesnt look too shabby.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2003, 03:07 AM
MusicTrax MusicTrax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Posts: 140
Default Re: FW800 options

Quote:
Originally posted by sweetness:
i need a new drive. i was looking for firewire 800.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I see that one company, Firewire Direct, is already selling some Firewire 800 drives, plus they've also got an enclosure for about $140.

One of their competitors, Firewire Depot, has got even more stuff. I've never bought from either company, and I'm kinda disappointed that Granite Digital is dragging their heels getting into FW800.

--Marc W.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2003, 04:40 AM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: FW800 options

OWC and Wiebetech are the ones I would go for. Personally, I like the OWC power supply brick because it means no fan for the enclosure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2003, 08:35 AM
s2n s2n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 853
Default Re: FW800 options

Quote:
Originally posted by auxsend1:
OWC and Wiebetech are the ones I would go for. Personally, I like the OWC power supply brick because it means no fan for the enclosure.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Just don't stick a Western Digital Jumbo cache drive into one of these enclosures. They heat up too much...they need a fan.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2003, 09:28 AM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 469
Default Re: FW800 options

Quote:
Originally posted by s2n:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by auxsend1:
OWC and Wiebetech are the ones I would go for. Personally, I like the OWC power supply brick because it means no fan for the enclosure.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Just don't stick a Western Digital Jumbo cache drive into one of these enclosures. They heat up too much...they need a fan. <hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Really? I pulled the CD drive out of my 867 G4 so I could get a third internal ATA drive. Apple didn't want you to do that because there's insufficient capability to dissipate heat, so I shopped around for a cool-running drive and the winner was... Western Digital. Since then, haven't had any problems. Was I misinformed?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2003, 11:22 AM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default Re: FW800 options

Quote:
Originally posted by s2n:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by auxsend1:
OWC and Wiebetech are the ones I would go for. Personally, I like the OWC power supply brick because it means no fan for the enclosure.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Just don't stick a Western Digital Jumbo cache drive into one of these enclosures. They heat up too much...they need a fan. <hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">thats funny. the only OWC unit i have bought was with a WD jumbo cache drive in it. anything i should look out for?

but i still dont understand what is this jumbo cache and why isnt anyone else using it? i dont want to deal with a wall wart, so is the 8MB cache just hype?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2003, 08:50 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: FW800 options

sweetness,

How many tracks are you using on the single drive? 64 tracks or less doesn't even come close to touching the bandwidth of an internal 7200 rpm.

The 8 meg cache makes little difference to PT. The specs to look for are the read/write times for the cache to the medium when dealing with non-scsi drives.

IMO, all drives should have a fan near them. All 7200+ RPM drives run darn hot! The more recent drives are quite a bit thinner and allow for more airflow around the drive, so, they tend to run a little cooler.

I wouldn't stress about drive selection. Almost everything on the market today as far as the actual drive is concerned handles most if not all projects with no problem at all.

For a chassis, avoid wall warts.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2003, 01:03 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: FW800 options

Stay away from Firewire 800 PCI cards with Protools. I have done extensive testing with theses cards and Protools. They hog the PCI bandwith from PT and the speed is the same as using the internal FW 400.
I have not tested FW 800 on any of the new Macs with built in FW 800. I am just talking about adding a F/W 800 card to a older QS G4.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2003, 09:19 AM
sweetness sweetness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 50
Default Re: FW800 options

Quote:
Originally posted by roberts:
Stay away from Firewire 800 PCI cards with Protools..
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">yeah, i will use the FW400 till i get a new mac, but i just wanted to be set up to use FW800 when the time comes. all these 800 chassis are supposed to be backwards compatible with 400. do you think that affects performace? also theres a 400 port on all these, but if its on the oxford 922 chipset, than its spitting out the same 800 info. no?

thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FW800 port —> FW800 Drive —> Out FW400 port on Drive —> Pro Tools LE FireWire maharzan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-03-2009 09:37 AM
FW800 with OS9 themaskedman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-22-2007 10:46 AM
FW800 jeremyroberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-23-2005 04:27 PM
FW800 nbennett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2004 08:46 AM
is ANYBODY using FW800 out there? besmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-12-2003 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com