Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2009, 07:15 PM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Selection clears after stop?

Using loop playback, it seems that the selection always clears after stopping. This makes it impossible to make a selection using the 003 (down/up on nav buttons) because the selection you make is cleared once you hit stop!

This seems rather silly to me. Is there a setting to change this, or am I misusing something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2009, 08:31 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 321
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

try pressin "N" on kbd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2009, 09:46 PM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
try pressin "N" on kbd
That changes the insertion follows playback cursor, correct?

It doesn't seem to help. I'm still having the issue of stop clearing the selection
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2009, 05:00 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Link Edit and Timeline Selection, perhaps?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:55 PM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Link Edit and Timeline Selection, perhaps?
On or Off it still does this.

It happens 95% of the time when trying to make a selection using the 003. Once in every 20 or so tries, it will actually keep the selection after hitting stop.

I checked in midi mode, and my stop button isn't mis-triggering or double-triggering so the controller is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:31 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Can you tell us exactly what you're doing and how you're doing it? It seems there's something missing from your description that would help in diagnosing what's going wrong.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2009, 01:27 PM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Can you tell us exactly what you're doing and how you're doing it? It seems there's something missing from your description that would help in diagnosing what's going wrong.
Open pt8 (I'm using an 003 factory). Open a project, any project.

Add tracks and/or regions if needed to have a functional project. I've tried various projects, setups, templates etc...

Engage 'Loop Play' on the 003

Start playback using 003.

Use up and down keys on the nav-wheel (003) to mark a selection.

Hit stop.

95% of the time the selection is removed and reset at the point where the playback cursor resets.

The few times it retains the selection, it will only play the selection ONCE (rather than looping), stop, and remove the selection.

---

If I make the selections with my mouse and engage playback and stop using the mouse, everything works normally.


I am using a late 2008 imac 2.6ghz with 4gb of ram (matched).
OS X 10.5.5
I also have a Frontier Designs Tranzport normally plugged into the system. It has been disconnected the last 2 days and the issue still persists.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:11 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,798
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Ok, I'm testing this and not seeing any problems, so let's make sure you're using the same settings:

1. Link Timeline and Edit Selection is on
2. Link Track and Edit Selection is off

In Preferences>Operation

3. Timeline Insertion/Play Start Marker Follows Playback is off
4. Edit Insertion Follows Scrub/Shuttle is off
5. Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection is on
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2009, 11:52 PM
GloryIsSilent GloryIsSilent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 101
Default Re: Selection clears after stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Ok, I'm testing this and not seeing any problems, so let's make sure you're using the same settings:

1. Link Timeline and Edit Selection is on
2. Link Track and Edit Selection is off

In Preferences>Operation

3. Timeline Insertion/Play Start Marker Follows Playback is off
4. Edit Insertion Follows Scrub/Shuttle is off
5. Play Start Marker Follows Timeline Selection is on
With this combination of settings it works correctly.

In this configuration, marking selections while using rew/ff is cleared after stop (or in the similar clear after single playback as mentioned before). I'm not sure if this is unintended usage or not.

It seems that marking while playing back works properly now though. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distortion out left side of 1/2 restart clears it up Rectifried Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 02-17-2015 03:33 AM
Analog insert clears Pre assignment pmueller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-22-2007 01:04 PM
Selection not staying highlighted when i stop play digimike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-26-2006 06:52 AM
Selection Clears when Playback is Stopped tikboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-19-2006 09:25 PM
Is there a shortcut for PT to stop at the end of a selection? digi,PLEASE SETTLE THIS leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 08-13-2002 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com