Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:05 PM
FrothyG FrothyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Determining tempos

How do I determine the tempo of audio files in pro tools?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:29 PM
edytnbch edytnbch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default Re: Determining tempos

find the points in the wave file from a four beat measure, and use Identify beat. pro tools will automatically create a tempo map for the entire song based on your selection.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:32 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Determining tempos

'tab to transient' often works very well to find the beats in an audio file. Then identify beat as explained to create a tempo map. If the tempo 'floats' identifying every bar might be a good thing.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2005, 02:57 PM
subskin subskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 67
Default Re: Determining tempos

Depends on the tune - but sometimes after identifying the beat - I use Beat detective's "measure" setting to create a relatively stable tempo map - even if the tune drifts a bit midi events and subsequent loops will stay nicely in time...
__________________
Subject51
Producer / Composer / Remixer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:21 AM
FrothyG FrothyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Determining tempos

Do I just highlight the 4 beats then use Identify beat? When I use idenitfy beat what do I type in the fields, or should I leave them the same?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2005, 08:50 AM
Monte McGuire Monte McGuire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malden, MA USA
Posts: 292
Default Re: Determining tempos

Quote:
Do I just highlight the 4 beats then use Identify beat? When I use idenitfy beat what do I type in the fields, or should I leave them the same?
You type in the bar and beat number that corresponds with that point in time. If you leave the fields the same, you're just "cementing down" the existing tempo map without considering what is actually happening in your recording.

Example: let's say you're mixing a reggae song and there's a solid snare on beat three of every measure. This would be a good choice to use as a tempo reference. Click on the snare track, tab to one of those beat 3 snare hits, type command i and then type in what measure number you're at and what beat you have (beat 3 in this case). You'll probably have to count a bit and make a decision as to where measure 1 should be to decide what measure number you're dealing with. Identify more and more beat 3 snare hits and you'll have a more accurate tempo map. If you're running a sequencer with PT then you probably want a really accurate tempo map, so you'll identify each beat 3 snare in the song, but if you just want approximate measure numbers as a locator feature, then you only need a few identified beats every so often.

Yes, it's sort of tedious, but tab to transient can make it go a good bit faster. Once you're done, you have a really accurate tempo map that can help out quite a bit, especially if you need to time edit.


Best of luck,

-monte-
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2005, 09:40 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Determining tempos

Quote:
How do I determine the tempo of audio files in pro tools?
http://www.digidesign.com/disk/diskflix/


Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Determining what QT to use Blazetracks Post - Surround - Video 2 10-13-2012 06:43 AM
Determining tempo of song in 7.4 a.q.s Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 07-12-2008 02:09 PM
Determining The BPM of a Hip Hop/R&B Track Rhapsody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-19-2007 09:58 AM
Determining ProTools cs Version?? Sharritan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-24-2005 07:31 AM
Determining Loop BPM ??? Lennylaughter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-20-2003 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com