Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:13 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 688
Default What drum plug in to buy?

I need something that I can build a pattern on a grid, something that is visual to grid of bars and beats. So I was looking at SUP Drummer 2.0 but frankly I just don’t get it, is that thing nothing more than just a pile of preset grooves? I am a drummer I cut the tracks here but I need to have an easy to use tool for clients when building scratch tracks, so they can groove to a drum feel - snare kik etc as apposed to a click click click. So while a 2 4 beat is what I most may need. I want to have a grid along the time line to make a verse or bridge change at say bar 32 or what ever. Is SUP drummer up to this task? As in having an edit grid? Strike just seams so intergraded to PT its seam like a no brainer. But if it’s crawling out of time with the session then it’s of no use.

So what I need over here is a simple V drum plug in with a grid like edit HUI that syncs along with my PT session, So if we decide to go to 122.5 from 121.0 BPM its a simple as changing it in the tempo lane in my PT session. Or make a kik or snare change at bar 14 to bar 20 its as easy as looking at a grid and doing so.


Hmmmmm.
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:43 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,549
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

Since you're a drummer, maybe a new strategy is in order? I get drum tracks thru a few ways. I started with ezdrummer and dragging the loops to an instrument track(in GRID mode) and that worked okay(but there are way too many loops to audition). Then I hooked up my Roland TD10 kit and just played the parts in, and that's great in most cases. A third option that I really like for "quick and dirty" drums is to tap out a few patterns/bars on an M-Audio Trigger Finger. Pound out a bar or two and repeat. Then go back later and edit things, or replace by sitting at the Roland kit for a real performance(or pencil and edit). On a side note, the Trigger Finger can(although its a small PITA) have custom pad layouts so I built a page with snare and each tom assigned to 2 adjacent pads so I can play play rolls on the pads(and they really work). As to Strike and timing issues, I'm not sure what's going on there. Once I have midi down, I can change tempo at will using SD2 or ezdrummer
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:13 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 688
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

You know I was thinking along the lines of my Roland Octa pad But here is the deal. I have like three full time clients and they all want to use a plug in as I described above at there place when building scratch tracks on there 003 factory systems and then just transport over here the scratch builds. So I need to be able to use what I tell them to buy, Then as well all of us be on the same page. What is the remedy here? I thought in this day we should have a V drum plug in that has a grid editor for laying 100 bars of tracks. This seems like such a no brainer. Am i missing something? I mean yea I could launch my nuendo and use it as a sequencer and trigger my s90es or my Roland or what ever but that's not the intergraded plug solution for my clients exchange concerns.

Frankly it looks like strike but they better get that crawling out of sync with the tune thing fixed or its as useless as a rock in a puddle.
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:24 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

BFD2 includes a Groove Editor as you describe.

You can see it in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pi9JKvwGRE (about 1:49)

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:32 AM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 688
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

Thanks\

I was looking at BFD first off. BUT is that not a VST wraper?
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:19 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

No, BFD is not a wrapped plugin - not that it would make any difference if it were...

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:46 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

I'll throw in a vote for BFD2.

Extremely powerful, with a full mix section, groove editor, MIDI mapping, etc, etc, etc.

Top notch samples as well. :)
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:51 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsound Recording View Post
Strike just seams so intergraded to PT its seam like a no brainer. But if it’s crawling out of time with the session then it’s of no use.
If you're looking for a fancy metronome then Strike is a no brainer, it's intuitive, flexible and simple. Timing issues are only related to a current bug when exporting a Strike Performance. Strike synced to Pro Tools Conductor Rulers experiences no timing issues. Strike Patterns can be modified in the Style Editor too.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2011, 01:20 PM
Fullsound Recording Fullsound Recording is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SEATTLE WA USA
Posts: 688
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

does the BFD eco have grid part editing as well?
__________________
www.fullsoundrecording.com
Seattle Wa

I voted at www.deardigi.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:08 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: What drum plug in to buy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsound Recording View Post
does the BFD eco have grid part editing as well?
No, the Groove Editor is only in BFD2

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum plug-in (yet another thread..!) tobbenos The Drum Room 5 10-12-2010 01:23 PM
Drum plug in advice ThunderHorse Virtual Instruments 12 08-03-2010 09:33 AM
Which Drum Plug In Should I Go With? brastelei Virtual Instruments 0 05-27-2008 02:07 PM
Help with latency on drum plug ins Leadfinger Tips & Tricks 3 03-16-2007 04:24 PM
Drum plug ins, What do you use? meandeanmachine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 01-19-2005 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com