Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-21-2021, 04:34 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Just thought I would chime in here on this.

I have done some initial testing and the I must say that the workflow in Logic Pro X is actually pretty great (though given it's majority user base, we're gonna hear some pretty out there mixes, if people don't take the time and set it up correctly)
I have imported/exported masters using DAPS and Logic... and yup, they do the same thing. Both ways.

Fully compatible. So just saying, that this is not some half ars....d attempt with some phoney "spacial" attempt, but it's actually the real deal, with a different interface.

I disclose that I really only use Logic for music production and PTU for audio post, however, have been using both for 25 years and I think we're living in some pretty exciting times.

Anyway, keen to hear more experiences from other users.

Be good to each other,
Regards,
Matt
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01

Last edited by mattrixx; 10-21-2021 at 04:34 AM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:01 AM
bzone bzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

I have gone through the experience of trying to set up and work in Atmos with a smaller system and DAPS and matrix studio. Fine for small projects.
I believe this is what Logic is trying. To put out a core audio set up where the mixes will be done in AirPods or headphones and this is how they will experience their mixes.

If you want to do Atmos with beds for music, dialogue, fx’s etc. and all the objects. DAMS with an RMU, if not doing large scale theatrical where you lease the RMU from Dolby. Having the RMU on say a Mac mini with a Dante card a 7.1 Mac, Protools Ultimate HDX and a loaded MTRX, S6, S3, S1, dock, is the way to go. Of course good room and the full speaker set as well. Expensive yes, but the work flow and production is so much easier.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:17 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Yes, I totally agree on all fronts.
I don't think people are going to be mixing features in LPX, let alone Netflix series.
But it will be pretty interesting to hear how people muck this up in Logic. ;-)
I must admit, that what I've heard in Spatial audio on Apple Music, hasn't really grabbed me.
When listening to binaural music, in my experience, it has been disappointing overall, as it feels like transient energy has been sacrificed in the process.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:37 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 252
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

new... from instagram...

sirgregwells

Mixing Atmos in the new Logic is like flying a fighter jet with an undo button. But putting Little Radiator across an Atmos mix bus is so much I should be fined.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 13. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 13. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:45 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Haha gold!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-27-2021, 05:02 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 831
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Quote:
When listening to binaural music, in my experience, it has been disappointing overall, as it feels like transient energy has been sacrificed in the process.
Interesting that you say this matrixx.
I wonder if it's similar to the LtRt process that always smeared the sound relative to a straight stereo version?
Or it could be more to do with a bad head transfer function.
I have a Smyth Realiser and when you use a personalised head transfer no transients are lost.
That's the missing link in Binaural at the moment, we all have different shaped heads and ears, so the average functions that Apple Spatial Audio for instance uses are always going to be a bit underwhelming.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-27-2021, 05:15 AM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 921
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Wow, yes, that is super interesting.
I do have a larger head circumference than average, but thought I'd calibrated things accordingly.** (Geezz, I've left myself open for some banter right there. LOL. I noted when sizing my new LaCrosse helmet last year LOL).

**Until I google the "Smyth Realiser".. Wow!!
Makes a whole lot of sense in this area, I totally must admit, I haven't spent a lot of time in.

I'd love to learn more about you experience with all of this and further knowledge regarding the smearing effect.

Sincere regards,
Matt
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:06 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,807
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrixx View Post
Yes, I totally agree on all fronts.
But it will be pretty interesting to hear how people muck this up in Logic. ;-)
I must admit, that what I've heard in Spatial audio on Apple Music, hasn't really grabbed me.
When listening to binaural music, in my experience, it has been disappointing overall, as it feels like transient energy has been sacrificed in the process.
Yes. I completely agree. I keep thinking I must be crazy that so many others seem to be raving about the binaural music. I have yet to find a mix I like better in binaural then stereo. Sure, if it was played back in a professional ATMOS environment, I might like it more, but I'm not convinced that this is how consumers will intend to listen to the ATMOS mixes.

Apple is pushing this spatial audio so hard right now and I'm worried that all Logic users are now going to mix all of their music in Spatial Audio while monitoring in binaural with headphones and we are in for seeing the release of some very crappy mixes the next few years.

My prediction is that it is only a few years until spatial audio for music will be forgotten.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2021.10
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.16.0
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-27-2021, 12:41 PM
bzone bzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

I remember “Rock Yours in Quad” that radio station is stereo today. If you listen in the correct environment like a movie theater or your home 5.1-7.1 you will hear it. I guess they will have to come up with a helmet with 13 speakers and subs. It will be so much better than the kids with the scooters and just the headphones that cut through traffic, at least they will be better protected


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-27-2021, 01:48 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 PT and Logic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I'm not convinced that this is how consumers will intend to listen to the ATMOS mixes.
The number of people with proper Atmos playback systems is frighteningly small. Sound bars are populating living rooms everywhere, but this doesn't come close to proper. I'd guess that very few even have ceiling-mounted speakers, or dedicated height speakers of any kind. I'm not even sure how many family rooms ever had, or have, 5.1 systems that we'd call acceptable but I bet that's also a tiny fraction, and thinning the herd even further is the fact that they need to be adjusted for the room. Yeah... it's a small number.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic Now Has Atmos Built-In for $199 Tweakhead Pro Tools 2021 7 10-21-2021 02:26 PM
Is there a way to use a 7.2.4 Dolby Atmos home theater as a Pro Tools Dolby Atmos mix Focuret Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 19 09-14-2021 09:52 AM
Atmos and AVR lgabor Post - Surround - Video 16 06-01-2020 09:24 PM
Atmos HT Renderer Norad155 Post - Surround - Video 0 04-02-2019 11:24 AM
Dolby Atmos peter5992 Post - Surround - Video 20 10-29-2012 02:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com