Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:15 PM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Broken Button On S3

I got my S3 today second-hand and it arrived with a broken "Sel" button. The button works but if you turned the S3 upside down it would fall out. You can also feel how wobbly it is. On inspected, you can see a small plastic tab is broken. I'm obviously trying to see about warranty and all that but does anyone know if it's a simple fix? It looks like if I could just get a replacement button I could probably do it myself but I wouldn't know until I opened it up.

Thoughts? Thanks,

Ryan
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Producer • Sound Designer • Mixer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2021, 02:45 PM
tonmensch tonmensch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmccam View Post
I got my S3 today second-hand and it arrived with a broken "Sel" button. The button works but if you turned the S3 upside down it would fall out. You can also feel how wobbly it is. On inspected, you can see a small plastic tab is broken. I'm obviously trying to see about warranty and all that but does anyone know if it's a simple fix? It looks like if I could just get a replacement button I could probably do it myself but I wouldn't know until I opened it up.

Thoughts? Thanks,

Ryan
Dear Ryan

same here with my AVID Dock. Two Buttons broken in half. Did you get any further with your inquiry ?

Best
Tobs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2021, 08:58 AM
rmccam rmccam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Hey Tobs,

That really sucks... sorry to hear that.

I didn't get a simple fix, unfortunately. I had insurance pay to get it serviced.

From what I remember, I took it apart and there was no good way to do it, which is a drag.

Sorry. Good luck though!

Ryan
__________________
Ryan McCambridge
Producer • Sound Designer • Mixer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2021, 10:47 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,436
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonmensch View Post
Dear Ryan

same here with my AVID Dock. Two Buttons broken in half. Did you get any further with your inquiry ?

Best
Tobs
Sorry your button broke. If its still under the 1 year support get it changed out.....or if not, take out a new support contract ($99) wait a month and get it fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2021, 05:53 AM
Maro Records's Avatar
Maro Records Maro Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 82
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonmensch View Post
Dear Ryan

same here with my AVID Dock. Two Buttons broken in half. Did you get any further with your inquiry ?

Best
Tobs
My Dock - one button broken, and ... the knobs started working incorrectly. The parameters do not follow the movements of the knobs, sometimes the displays are completely in the opposite direction. The first knob was repaired under warranty a year ago, and it is the only one that works properly...
My two Artist Mixes - very old ones - work perfect.
So, the Dock and all new line of products are poorly made - this is my conclusion...
__________________
Maro,
http://www.marorecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2021, 04:54 PM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Where do I purchase this support plan. I'm unable to find it?
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2021, 01:18 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 906
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by feakerboo View Post
Where do I purchase this support plan. I'm unable to find it?
You have to go to your local Avid dealer and ask for it, part number is: 0541-60111-15
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7|Ultimate • MTRX Studio • HDX1 • S3 • DockMac Mini 2018 - 3.2GHz i7 6-core macOS 11.6 • RAM 64GB DDR4 GPU AMD 6900XT 16GB • Monitor LG 32UL950-W
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2021, 10:51 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,010
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sorry your button broke. If its still under the 1 year support get it changed out.....or if not, take out a new support contract ($99) wait a month and get it fixed.

Seems like an issue with these - 1 button broken in half on my Dock; guess I'll look into a warranty repair/replace.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2021, 09:11 PM
feakerboo feakerboo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 227
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Seems like an issue with these - 1 button broken in half on my Dock; guess I'll look into a warranty repair/replace.

Yup just happened to me this week.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brad e
Partial Credits
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2021, 09:31 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,436
Default Re: Broken Button On S3

Can you please post your serial numbers?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stop button lighted,play button blinking not playing RichrdC Pro Tools 11 6 11-05-2016 06:48 PM
broken button rcutz Avid S4/S6 4 04-27-2016 08:16 PM
Broken light XLR connector and broken is iLok USB port victorbraga98 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-28-2015 11:48 PM
Broken Fader Bank Button andylive VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 11-16-2009 09:49 AM
002 Control Surface Mute Button Broken/Stuck..! Citrin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-26-2009 10:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com