Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2013, 12:00 AM
sean_pc sean_pc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Hedland
Posts: 7
Default Monitor sound vs playback sound

I don't understand why the audio I hear when tracking sounds different to the payback sound. While I am tracking it sounds crystal clear and reproduces all frequencies very well. When I playback, the audio seems dull and muffled almost. My signal path is simple. Omni--native card--protools--native card--Omni. It's just a simple mono guitar track, no plugins and the output set to stereo monitor. I'm sure I am missing something really fundamental here. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2013, 09:01 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Monitor sound vs playback sound

record and playback faders, linked or unlinked?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2013, 09:02 AM
boomsounddesign's Avatar
boomsounddesign boomsounddesign is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Curitiba, Brasil
Posts: 89
Default Re: Monitor sound vs playback sound

Whats your tracking setup? Make sure that as you track you aren't in fact listening to bleed from the source. That will throw off what you think you are hearing.
__________________
My Gear
Mac Pro (mid 2011) - 2x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Xeon, 16GB RAM, ProTools HD Native, UAD Quad.
HD IO 16x16 + Lynx Aurora 16
Solid State Logic Matrix
B&W 800 series + Yamaha HSM80s

Mojave Audio, Royer, Neumann, Audix, Yamaha, AKG and Shure mics. Focusrite ISA828, SSL Alpha VHD, UA LA610-mkii, M-Audio OctoPre, Avid Eleven Rack

Canare and Mogami cabling.

http://www.boomsounddesign.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:25 AM
sean_pc sean_pc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: South Hedland
Posts: 7
Default Re: Monitor sound vs playback sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
record and playback faders, linked or unlinked?
Without sounding like the boy who cried wolf, it appears to be resolved. I realized I couldn't pan any sound as my Omni was set to fold down stereo to mono(Should that even matter in this instance?) I also turned up my cans so maybe there was a little room reflection in my ears. By the way, it was literally my first track with this new system.

Link box is checked Craig. Should it be?

boomsounddesign, monitoring through headphones. Guitar straight into the Omni.

Thanks for you replies.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2013, 06:57 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Monitor sound vs playback sound

personally I like linked, some people don't
it basically lets a fader on a track that is in record have a different setting when in record than when in playback

Don't worry, we all make a mistake now and then
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to monitor sound from g4 drive thru 002? where02190 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 01-05-2014 04:50 AM
Digi 003 sound to monitor in playback mode only 67Thunderbird 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-06-2013 05:42 PM
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2012 09:06 PM
dual monitor with db sound help!! djmichael.london 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 09-06-2008 04:02 PM
no sound using monitor mode otto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-09-2002 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com