Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2021, 10:45 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

I don't need Falcon from Avid as I purchased it direct from UVI so I can use it in Digital Performer and standalone. Got an email from UVI saying they just released V2.5 as a free update. I know Avid is slow to push out Falcon updates; I went to my Avid account and can't find Falcon or the Avid Falcon library. Was curious to see what the current version is that Avid has.


Is Falcon no longer available to PT users from Avid?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2021, 10:51 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 782
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Mine shows up and is v2.1.7
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2021, 10:55 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Mine shows up and is v2.1.7
Where is it? While looking in the 'My Products' section I looked in the PT line where my PT 2021.6 downloads are and there's nothing Falcon related. I wonder if that's because I no longer have an active update/support plan? Also it's not in the Download Center.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2021, 04:19 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,629
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Where is it? While looking in the 'My Products' section I looked in the PT line where my PT 2021.6 downloads are and there's nothing Falcon related. I wonder if that's because I no longer have an active update/support plan? Also it's not in the Download Center.

Correct.

All the added software is for users with active plans. Once you let it lapse, you no longer have access.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2021, 05:24 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Correct.

All the added software is for users with active plans. Once you let it lapse, you no longer have access.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I never saw anything like that for Falcon or the Avid Plugsound library for Falcon that I remember. If this is true then why do I still have access to Melodyne Essentials in my account? Can you point out where you see this?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2021, 07:13 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,629
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I never saw anything like that for Falcon or the Avid Plugsound library for Falcon that I remember. If this is true then why do I still have access to Melodyne Essentials in my account? Can you point out where you see this?

Itís under the Pro Tools Annual Upgrade Plan section. You donít have an active plan, so you donít have access to it.

Melodyne is different. Audio to MIDI functionality is linked to Melodyne, so you will still have access to that as the last version of Pro Tools you had access to is probably a version after that functionality was added. I donít know what version youíre on, so just guessing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2021, 04:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Itís under the Pro Tools Annual Upgrade Plan section. You donít have an active plan, so you donít have access to it.

Melodyne is different. Audio to MIDI functionality is linked to Melodyne, so you will still have access to that as the last version of Pro Tools you had access to is probably a version after that functionality was added. I donít know what version youíre on, so just guessing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm on PT 2021.6 which was the last available to me before I stopped paying the yearly Avid tax. But as I wrote I don't recall seeing anything in my account products page that expressly said the availability of Falcon and the Plugsound Edition were tied to having an active support & upgrade plan. Fortunately I purchased Falcon direct from UVI so I could use it in my other daw (DP) as well as standalone. It's the Avid Plugsound add-on I wanted to make a safety copy of. That and I wanted to see what revision Falcon was for those who use the Avid supplied version.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2021, 05:01 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,629
Default UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...nd-Workstation

How does the licensing work for the UVI plug-ins?

Active Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate products will receive a subscription license (called "Avid Falcon AAX"), which will have the same end date as the Pro Tools license. Also note that the Falcon Factory content is also protected by the same Avid Falcon AAX license.
All Pro Tools First products will have the download links for UVI Workstation, which is a license-free product.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2021, 05:19 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,967
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...nd-Workstation

How does the licensing work for the UVI plug-ins?

Active Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate products will receive a subscription license (called "Avid Falcon AAX"), which will have the same end date as the Pro Tools license. Also note that the Falcon Factory content is also protected by the same Avid Falcon AAX license.
All Pro Tools First products will have the download links for UVI Workstation, which is a license-free product.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thank you for that but that talks about end date of license and says nothing about having an active support/update plan in place. I have a permanent license for PT.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2021, 07:44 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 782
Default Re: UVI Falcon - missing from Avid account

IIRC mine got renewed when I paid for the annual Ultimate Support / Update plan. I have a perpetual license but pay for that. The Avid Pro series plugins are also tied to that.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UVI Avid Falcon 2.0.8 in Avid user account musicman691 Virtual Instruments 3 03-11-2021 04:56 PM
Venue Software v5.5 missing from Avid Account kaiyajoy VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 07-13-2017 04:16 PM
Protools HD product missing from Avid account AUDIO64+LIVE Licensing & Accounts 1 04-03-2016 12:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com