Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2022, 10:16 PM
rwinking rwinking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Montana
Posts: 8
Default MIDI dropping out

I did a google search and found others with this issue but could not find a fix so I thought I would try here.
I recorded a couple of midi tracks and for three days I could play it back with no issue. All of a sudden both tracks seem to drop out momentarily and then drop back in. I read it may be an issue with samples, so I bumped it up to 1024 and no change. I can see the notes are still there. I tried commiting the track thinking that it would all be there, but nope, it dropped out on the committed track.
I think this is fairly common, so I would appreciate it if someone has a simple step by step fix on this.
Rick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2022, 01:32 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,850
Default Re: MIDI dropping out

Its tough to offer advice with zero details on the setup and what instrument plugins you are running(some are serious power hogs). The thing you changed to 1024 is not "samples" per se, but is the buffer setting(in samples). The higher numbers give the computer more time to process, with higher latency being the tradeoff(lower numbers give less latency, but task the computer more). Try making all but 1 instrument track inactive and commit that track. If it gives you a good audio track, repeat on the others(one at a time).

To get better help, answer these:
1-complete computer and interface details?
2-what plugins?
3-are your sessions on their own drive or on the system drive?
4-if on the system drive, what are the specs of that drive(SSD? Probably okay. Spinner? Maybe not okay. 5400 rpm spinner? Definitely not okay)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2022, 03:10 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,978
Default Re: MIDI dropping out

Any demo plugins? Some dropout from time to time on purpose.

Unwanted automation like volume messages (MIDI cc7 in the MIDI event list)?

If it's a Windows system and the audio interface is on a USB port make sure Windows isn't set to turn off the USB ports.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2022, 09:28 PM
rwinking rwinking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Montana
Posts: 8
Default Re: MIDI dropping out

Sorry for being an idiot and thanks for the help. I bought Iris 2 from Izotope and did not authorize it. When I recorded it was fine. After a couple of days it started dropping in and out. I went to the portal and authorized it and all is well in synthland.
Why is it usually something really simple?!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2022, 05:08 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,978
Default Re: MIDI dropping out

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwinking View Post
Sorry for being an idiot and thanks for the help. I bought Iris 2 from Izotope and did not authorize it. When I recorded it was fine. After a couple of days it started dropping in and out. I went to the portal and authorized it and all is well in synthland.
Why is it usually something really simple?!!!!!
Good you got it sorted. What would really help when asking for any kind of help here is posting your system info. You can either post it as part of your sig file or put it on your profile page like many have. You may think it's irrelevant but not every system is the same nor are the answers the same.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Dropping Out chrismeraz Pro Tools 12 5 04-03-2018 08:28 AM
Midi note not kept after dropping out Naptalene Pro Tools 12 1 12-05-2016 03:30 AM
Midi in PT9 record mode dropping out like clockwork aramey Pro Tools 9 0 12-24-2013 07:08 PM
midi keep dropping? bonzerboy Windows 0 03-11-2012 07:15 AM
MIDI dropping out Toby75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-09-2006 06:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com