Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2013, 05:48 AM
drew_glue drew_glue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toowoomba, Australia
Posts: 14
Default 11R with fast track ultra 8R

Hey guys, am having massive amounts of trouble getting the eleven rack to work with the m audio fastrack ultra 8R and pro tools 10. i can use one or the other. i cant figure out the i/o and under hardware in the setup menu it will only read one at a time. i'm wanting to be able to record with both in one session. possibly run out of the eleven rack by s/pdif while still accessing eleven rack controlls in a session as well as being able to switch to a mic input on the fastrack without changing the playback engine...is this possible? not sure how to access the 8r's input thing to get the s/pdif working either. The closest i can get is, while using the fastrack as the playback engine, i have the eleven rack i/o's in but i cant get a signal and there is no output available.... i am really stuck...i have no problem using my fastrack btw. any help would be so appreciated :)

pro tools 10
11R
m-audio fast track ultra 8R
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2013, 07:22 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

I don't think you can use the Fast track in aggregate mode, which is what you're trying to do (having the inputs of both interfaces show up in Protools).

However, you can still use them together. Select the Fast track as your Protools interface, which will give you all of its inputs available, including Spidf.

Then hook up the Eleven Rack via Spidf to the Fast Track. You can still have the eleven rack GUI window available in Protools, as long as the Eleven Rack is hooked up via usb as well (you're not using it as your interface, but leaving it hooked up via usb just to have the GUI window available).

As for hooking it up via spidf, make sure in the Eleven Rack, that Spidf mirroring is switched to ON. Also, make sure the guitar input of the rack is chosen as the "rig input".

Also, make sure the clock on the eleven rack is set to "external". This will allow it to receive clocking from the Fast Track, keeping them synced. (In Protools, under setup>hardware, make sure the clock is set to "internal" which means you're using the fast track's clock.

Then, you may already know this, but create an audio track in protools, with the input set to Spidf, record arm the track, record arm the master transport, hit play, and record.

Note, for your tracks, you have a few options: One mono track, if you just want to record your effected track as it's processed from the eleven rack. In this case, set the input to Spidf L (left).

Or, if you want to record a stereo track (usually only if you're recording stereo effects like delay, etc., from the rack), then create a stereo track, with the input set to Spidf L+R.

Or the third option: Record a mono track with the processed sound, and another mono track with the dry signal (in case you change your mind about the sound and want to send it back through the rack later for something different). For that situation, I don't remember exactly how to set that up, but somebody else will jump in here.

Also, you can watch the videos that Benoni has created on his youtube channel. Very helpful. He explains using Spidf with the rack and the 003, but it will be the exact same setup using your Fast Track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2013, 03:01 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,877
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

Quote:
Originally Posted by drew_glue View Post
Hey guys, am having massive amounts of trouble getting the eleven rack to work with the m audio fastrack ultra 8R and pro tools 10. i can use one or the other. i cant figure out the i/o and under hardware in the setup menu it will only read one at a time. i'm wanting to be able to record with both in one session. possibly run out of the eleven rack by s/pdif while still accessing eleven rack controlls in a session as well as being able to switch to a mic input on the fastrack without changing the playback engine...is this possible? not sure how to access the 8r's input thing to get the s/pdif working either. The closest i can get is, while using the fastrack as the playback engine, i have the eleven rack i/o's in but i cant get a signal and there is no output available.... i am really stuck...i have no problem using my fastrack btw. any help would be so appreciated :)

pro tools 10
11R
m-audio fast track ultra 8R
Is this a Windows PC or a Mac?

Mac can do aggregate, Windows can not. I don't know anything about the Fast Track, but setting it up as nst7 said is the way to go. You will need to read the Fast Track manual to get the specifics of using SPDIF.

You could also just use the main outs of the 11R to a pair of inputs on the Fast Track, but SPDIF would technically be better.

You can also just switch to using the interface you want when needed.

Tell us more about your setup. What OS, what exact version of Pro Tools (PT 10.x.x)
Where are you hooking up your monitors?
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2013, 03:42 PM
drew_glue drew_glue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toowoomba, Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

Great thanks guys so much :) im heading out to the studio soon and ill get you more info and try the suggested methods.

cheers
Drew
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2013, 08:10 PM
drew_glue drew_glue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toowoomba, Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

ok so I did all those things had no problem with the eleven rack, but on the fast track I cant change the sync source to internal. It says because the driver is streaming, many settings may not be adjusted. under hardware in the setup menu the is no adjustment to change the clock source it jus says, hardware contrls for this peripheral are handled in its setup application, bummer.

windows 7 64 bit SP1
pro tools 10 version 10.0.0

Thanks again
Drew
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2013, 10:08 PM
drew_glue drew_glue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toowoomba, Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

OMG!!!! i got it working thanks a bunch guys!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2013, 07:00 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: 11R with fast track ultra 8R

Great!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast track ultra r8 - win 7 32 bit Claxton FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 2 02-03-2014 06:43 PM
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 03:55 PM
Fast Track Ultra 8r travgei Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 02-13-2012 03:38 AM
Fast track ultra 8r travgei Pro Tools 10 0 02-04-2012 01:13 PM
track confusion in fast track ultra interface deck Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 02-24-2010 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com