Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:29 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Are "Green" HDs OK?

I'm going to add a 5th drive to my Mac Pro probably as an additional audio drive? I'd like to use one of the new "environmentally green" drives that are super quiet. I don't see any "dont's" about these drives. Is anyone using one of these in their system and are they OK?
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:00 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,840
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

You don't want to use them for anything intensive like audio/video, etc. They don't perform well in that situation, and are made more for the general consumer for backup, etc. Those who have tried them for this type of thing have had problems.

Ideally, you want the Caviar Blacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:18 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

No - you have no control over the spin up/down.
__________________
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win11
PT 2022.4 DP 11.1 828es ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win11
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2011, 01:20 PM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

Hummm well that's too bad. They are so quiet. Well I'll axe that idea and use another SATA type.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:00 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

Buying a "green" drive for audio is like buying a Prius to run NASCAR...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:12 PM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

OK got all that....but there's something missing from these posts: The Whys.

There's not one good fact based reason not to use one! If it's 7200 rpms how can it be any slower than a caviar blue.

"They don't perform well" ok well why?
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:17 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,871
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

Here is the WHY. They don't spin at 7200 rpm. They CAN spin at 7200 rpm, but they will decide when to spin down to 5900 and they don't care what you, the user want. Do not buy a green drive if you want good performance
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2011, 04:25 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

also they excessive park the heads (that means they stop spinning all together) p save power.

you want quiet get a SSD
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2011, 07:12 PM
NewdestinyX NewdestinyX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
also they excessive park the heads (that means they stop spinning all together) p save power.

you want quiet get a SSD
But SSD's aren't approved for audio either. And they're triple the price. Stick with black SATAs .. They're super quiet too.
__________________
Rig 1-Mix/Mast: PTHD 11.3.1; MacPro 6core (6,1) 3.5 GHz Xeon E5; 10.10.3 (SSD Drives for audio); Apogee DUET, FireStudio2626 as Hware Inserts to PT for outboard
Rig 2-Cutting&Remotes: PTHD 11.3.1; MacBook Pro (8,1) 2.8 GHz Dual i7; 10.9.2 (128GB int '6G' SSD drive); Profire LightBridge (FW800), 32ch Presonus Digimax FS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2011, 04:28 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Are "Green" HDs OK?

OK that was the info I needed! Thanks guys I appreciate the feedback.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
Question regarding the "green i" button Southsidemusic Pro Tools 10 4 10-19-2012 11:50 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
The "FATE" of CM LABS "MotorMix" & "MotorMate". Dum dum dum dum... leon777 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 10-15-2002 12:00 AM
"Green Light" from Apple = New Macs Qualified? fresh_meat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-02-2002 05:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com