Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2010, 07:37 PM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default USB Midi in PT LE8

Heyhey!

Will a USB to MIDI I/O cable work with myset up (002rack that already has the MIDI I/O being used and PT LE8)? I'd like to connect my MIDI keyboard via USB to MIDI I/O cable. I can see the "USB MIDI In" on the instrument and MIDI track, but I select it and record enable, start hitting keys on my keyboard, but nothing shows. Do I need to set up the USB Midi somehow, or will it simply not work?

Thanks!
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:25 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

Are you saying that if you instantiate a VI on an instrument track, say Xpand, and play that track via your midi controller, nothing happens?
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:33 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

What keyboard are you talking about? What model?

Open up Audio Midi Setup (from the Utilities folder) and look at the MIDI window.

You may need to do some configuration in there or install a driver possibly..

"USB MIDI In" is a very generic description and it tells me that the device is maybe not being fully recognized by OSX
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:17 PM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

The keyboard is VERY OLD. It's a Concertmate 980

What configurations would I need to do, or would I still be able to get a driver for this?
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:21 PM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Are you saying that if you instantiate a VI on an instrument track, say Xpand, and play that track via your midi controller, nothing happens?
I guess haha. I play the keyboard and nothing happens on the Midi track. I have an Instrument track setup with the Grand VI set on the inserts and on the Midi track I have it setup to the Grand.

This might help. When I have my E-drum set plugged in with Midi into my 002rack, it shows up on the MIDI track using the Grand VI instead of using the USB Midi in cable. Even though I have the USB Midi In selected on the track.
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2010, 04:07 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Dialogue View Post
This might help. When I have my E-drum set plugged in with Midi into my 002rack, it shows up on the MIDI track using the Grand VI instead of using the USB Midi in cable. Even though I have the USB Midi In selected on the track.
Wait a second.. That's a different kind of problem.

If you do this:
New session

New instrument track. Do not change any inputs or outputs.

Insert a plugin. Xpand or whatever.

Record enable the track.

Play the keyboard...
Are you saying under these exact circumstances that you get no reaction on the Instrument track?

If so check 2 things: Setup>MIDI>inputs make sure "USB Midi device" is checked so it is available as an input. Also make sure "MIDI thru" is checked (options menu I think)..

I initially thought that your keyboard had a USB connector, but I see that you must be using something like this: 1 x 1 USB MIDI Interface
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2010, 01:27 AM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

Yes, exactly. I am using a 1 x 1 USB MIDI Interface cable. I did as you said. I did not create a midi track, only a new session with an instrument track with xpand2 as the insert, record enabled. I play the keyboard and nothing.

The USB Midi Device is checked aswell as MIDI thru.
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2010, 09:33 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

OK, now you need to go through the process of elimination to figure out what is the source of the problem..

Connect your e-drums to the MIDI USB adapter... If they work then that points to the keyboard..

Connect the keyboard to the 002 MIDI ports.. If that works then that points to the USB-MIDI adapter..

If the problem is the keyboard, then get the manual online and really study the MIDI implementation. You may have to change some setting so that it actually transmits MIDI. Those beginner/consumer type keyboards really don't seem to have been designed to be good MIDI controllers... You will definitely be better off in the long run picking up a proper MIDI controller keyboard and most of them have USB built in.. These would be a good starting point. If your needs are very basic then a Korg NanoKey is about $50..

If the problem is the cable, then go to the mfgr's website and see if a driver is required or available. I have a MIDIsport 2x2 interface and it does require a driver on OSX, so the assumption is that other MIDI USB devices may as well..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2010, 02:53 PM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

Ok, thank you. I'll do some tests tonight and let you know!
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2010, 01:03 AM
-Dialogue -Dialogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Default Re: USB Midi in PT LE8

I plugged the keyboard into the Midi port of the 002 rack and it worked perfectly. After some attemps I went in and messed around with some Midi settings and I got it to work. Just had to set up it, by default it was connected, but the Ins and Outs weren't setup inside midi devices?? Anyways, thanks for all the help!
__________________
8core Mac Pro 2.8GHz Xeon(Early 2008)
10GB RAM
Leopard 10.5.8
Digi002 Rack
Pro Tools LE 8.0.3
RNP
RNC
ADA8000
HP60 Headphone Amp
Presonus Firepod FP10
M-Audio Audio Buddy
Final Cut Studio 3
Adobe CS4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 03:33 PM
003 midi ports not there in midi studio setup? Unable to record midi now? TREBLEBLEED 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-22-2009 12:06 AM
MIDI Questions On IMPORTING MIDI & Recording MIDI Pro Tools LE 7.4 Michaeldante MIDI 3 03-27-2009 05:42 PM
USB midi vs. din midi-(the old style midi connector) Ling Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-19-2009 02:15 PM
Assigning MIDI sounds to MIDI controller and playing sounds with MIDI lalalandguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-02-2009 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com