Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:41 PM
Torgo Torgo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 33
Default Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

I recently upgraded to a G4 Dual 1.25 which shipped with Panther, so I upgraded to PT 6.4 and the CoreAudio 6.5.2 driver. Pro Tools has been just fine, but when i use Logic, I can only set the driver for a 512 sample latency. With the old driver on Jaguar 10.2.8 I was able to select a 256 sample latency in Logic, but the current driver's setup manager only allows a choice between 512 and 1024, which is too long to be useful in a lot of situations.

Anyone else having this issue with the 6.5.2 CoreAudio driver or have a workaround for it?
__________________
MBox w/ PT LE 6.9
G4 Dual 1.25 PowerMac
1024 MB RAM
OSX 10.3
Maxtor 3000 DV 80 GB audio drive
Logic Audio Platinum
Reason
M-Audio Radium
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:41 AM
Tubz Tubz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 323
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

Nope. 512 samples is the lowest setting for mbox/coredriver.

BR Tubz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2004, 07:08 PM
Torgo Torgo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

Rats...

Hopefully this will change in the next version.
__________________
MBox w/ PT LE 6.9
G4 Dual 1.25 PowerMac
1024 MB RAM
OSX 10.3
Maxtor 3000 DV 80 GB audio drive
Logic Audio Platinum
Reason
M-Audio Radium
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:37 PM
Bhennies Bhennies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 287
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

Quote:
Rats...

Hopefully this will change in the next version.
don't count on it. You think DIGI wants you using logic?
__________________
Digi 002R, RME 8 i/o, DP 4.5, PT LE 6.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2004, 09:24 PM
Torgo Torgo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 33
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

Quote:
don't count on it. You think DIGI wants you using logic?
I don't really think that should be an issue (and certainly hope that it isn't). The old driver on Jaguar allowed a 256 sample latency, and besides, since I already bought the MBox, I'm already a PT user and a Digi customer! I just want the interface to function minimally as a good all-around soundcard, which is not a lot to ask, considering that even cheapo units out there can support lower latencies. Maybe I just have to go buy a second interface to use with other applications.

Multi-client support is wonderful and a step in the right direction, no mistake about it. And the driver is working very well and giving me no trouble. I just want to be able to get reasonable performance in my applications that work well for purposes that PT doesn't handle as well.
__________________
MBox w/ PT LE 6.9
G4 Dual 1.25 PowerMac
1024 MB RAM
OSX 10.3
Maxtor 3000 DV 80 GB audio drive
Logic Audio Platinum
Reason
M-Audio Radium
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2004, 08:13 AM
gearjunkie gearjunkie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 40
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2


I have a digi002 and was thinking about Logic Pro. Does anyone know if this is a problem on the 002(no lower than 512 buffer setting)?

Logic Pro users. How do you like it???

Any comments would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2004, 09:01 AM
Garissimo Garissimo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 97
Default Re: Latency issue with Logic and CoreAudio 6.5.2

Quote:
Quote:
don't count on it. You think DIGI wants you using logic?
I don't really think that should be an issue (and certainly hope that it isn't). The old driver on Jaguar allowed a 256 sample latency, and besides, since I already bought the MBox, I'm already a PT user and a Digi customer!
Digi makes most of their money off of their hardware interfaces these days so they shouldn't really care if your'e using Logic, GarageBand, Live, etc. to manage your audio. Anyways, I'm having the exact same issue Torgo is having with Logic, only with GarageBand and the 002r. iMac+GarageBand+002r used to work fine with the 256 buffer setting, and is now not too slow because of 6.5.2. And this is 16 bit / 44.1 KHz Audio we're talking about!

With all due repect, 6.5.2 looks to me a "beta" release with some pretty major issues. The standalone driver (6.5) is still available for download so I may go back to it and wait for 6.5.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11r and Logic... HUGE issue (spontaneous latency and intonation shift) suckamc Eleven Rack 2 06-09-2011 09:56 PM
Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio djaikon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-17-2005 12:14 PM
002R Coreaudio with Logic Pro 6.4.2 subreact 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-19-2005 03:38 AM
Changing Latency on the CoreAudio panel stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-18-2004 06:06 AM
CoreAudio, 002 and Logic jdandrea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-13-2004 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com