Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2008, 12:28 PM
Mr.O Mr.O is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 75
Default Midi timing

Hi,

made an arrangement in PT 7.4 and the same with Logic 8.02 - very interesting!

the timing with playing Midi and VIs in Logic is much better than in PT.
You get a springy, elastic feeling in L8
Then I used plogue bidule in PT, it´s a virtual VST rack with rewire, that you can use with PT
and wow: on a rewire bus battery 3 rocks a lot more than being a RTAS plug
digidesign will say, "that´s the problem with Native Instruments, but I think, this isn´t true, because AIR instruments like xpand or strike have the same
tiring groove
Hope, this problem will change in PT 8
On the other side I am a big fan of PT

Mr.O
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2008, 02:56 PM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: Midi timing

For me, the HIGHER the BUFFER, the WORSE the TIMING !!!!!

Been this way since Protools 6.0 here. I wish theyd just allocate a certain amount of memory that dealt with JUST the midi so it wouldnt go all over the place.

Logic still has the best midi timing yet.
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2008, 05:53 PM
brianstoner brianstoner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Midi timing

Same here.
Midi timing in Logic is excellent and mix sounds tight.

PTLE 7.4.2 timing is all over the place. Frustrating indeed.

PT 8 i am guessing will have the same midi timing issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:38 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Midi timing

For Recording, lower the Hardware Buffer Size, for Playback set the H/W Size back and use MIDI Track Offsets.





filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:09 PM
shanabit shanabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 506
Default Re: Midi timing

Setting up a MIDITRACK OFFSET in 2008!!!!!!

Midi has been going since 1983 and DIGI cant keep the timing on tight??

No thanks, Ill use Logic or Cubase for MIDI
__________________
MacPro 8 Core,2.4, 14 Gig Ram.
OSX 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi timing in PT =>6.0 Zeus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-26-2003 04:36 AM
MIDI Timing on PT LE DooDooDoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 09-02-2002 11:54 AM
001 midi timing/midi clock/MTC...any probs? Adam Inglis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-01-2001 10:33 AM
MIDI to CV midi timing ??(kenton) any good ? sandman MIDI 1 04-21-2001 07:36 AM
Midi timing on 001 who 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-11-2000 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com