Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:09 PM
young.don young.don is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida USA
Posts: 19
Default Avid, I need to know about future support!

DIGITECHSUPPORT, please reply... I know you're always around...


So they say:

Quote:
Q: Is Pro Tools 10 the last new software release for the original Pro Tools|HD hardware?
A: Yes. Pro Tools 10 will be the final full version release to support Pro Tools|HD (TDM) hardware and legacy "Digidesign" audio interfaces, as we make our transition to a full 64-bit application. That said, we're offering fantastic deals to Pro Tools|HD customers to crossgrade to our new Pro Tools|HDX system, which offers up 5x more power than Pro Tools|HD, plus much more headroom for mixing and plug-in processing.

As we move forward, please be aware of the following:
Pro Tools 10 will be the final feature release for Pro Tools|HD TDM systems
Pro Tools 10 will be the final supported feature release for legacy Digidesign interfaces and controllers, including:
192 I/O
192 Digital I/O
96 I/O
96i I/O
SYNC (original "blue")
SYNC HD (original "blue")
MIDI I/O
003 family
Mbox 2 family
Control|24
Command|8
Pro Control
I need this explained...

When Pro Tools 11 comes out, can I still use a 002 or 003? I don't believe Avid has any hardware that can replace these. If I can NOT use a 002 or 003 then you are effectively telling me that a year ago, Pro Tools was opened to ANY third party interface, but in another year or so... Pro Tools will be open to ANY interface, but their old ones?!

It doesn't make sense and I've talked to a lot of people about it and NO ONE understands.

A.) Here's the argument for the side that says we can still use them once Pro Tools goes 64 bit:
"If they support any interface through CoreAudio and Asio, why wouldn't/couldn't they support their OWN?"

B.) Here's the argument for the side that says we won't be able to use a 002r/003r anymore:
"Digidesign hardware needs digi drivers... If they don't release updates, especially after OS updates... Users get screwed."


So which is it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:27 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by young.don View Post
DIGITECHSUPPORT, please reply... I know you're always around...


So they say:



I need this explained...

When Pro Tools 11 comes out, can I still use a 002 or 003? I don't believe Avid has any hardware that can replace these. If I can NOT use a 002 or 003 then you are effectively telling me that a year ago, Pro Tools was opened to ANY third party interface, but in another year or so... Pro Tools will be open to ANY interface, but their old ones?!

It doesn't make sense and I've talked to a lot of people about it and NO ONE understands.

A.) Here's the argument for the side that says we can still use them once Pro Tools goes 64 bit:
"If they support any interface through CoreAudio and Asio, why wouldn't/couldn't they support their OWN?"

B.) Here's the argument for the side that says we won't be able to use a 002r/003r anymore:
"Digidesign hardware needs digi drivers... If they don't release updates, especially after OS updates... Users get screwed."


So which is it?
A) it's not just about support, it's about writing new drivers for a product they are no longer selling. I imagine if the plan is to no longer support the 002/003 family, then we will probably be seeing a replacement in the near future. The 3rd party support in Pro Tools is still up to the 3rd party to continue writing drivers that work in the newer OS's.

B) Writing drivers costs money. If the 002/003 family isn't making money, there's no reason to write new drivers for it. They will support them most likely through to the end of the latest OS builds like in the past... but this isn't the first time Avid or any other hardware company has dropped support of aging products. The fact that the 002 still has any support at all is near miraculous.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:38 PM
drmandel drmandel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oakland, CA, USA
Posts: 14
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by young.don View Post
DIGITECHSUPPORT, please reply... I know you're always around...


So they say:



I need this explained...

When Pro Tools 11 comes out, can I still use a 002 or 003? I don't believe Avid has any hardware that can replace these. If I can NOT use a 002 or 003 then you are effectively telling me that a year ago, Pro Tools was opened to ANY third party interface, but in another year or so... Pro Tools will be open to ANY interface, but their old ones?!

It doesn't make sense and I've talked to a lot of people about it and NO ONE understands.

A.) Here's the argument for the side that says we can still use them once Pro Tools goes 64 bit:
"If they support any interface through CoreAudio and Asio, why wouldn't/couldn't they support their OWN?"

B.) Here's the argument for the side that says we won't be able to use a 002r/003r anymore:
"Digidesign hardware needs digi drivers... If they don't release updates, especially after OS updates... Users get screwed."


So which is it?
I am also very confused. I own a Digi 002 rack and I cannot tell from what Avid has posted if version 10 will support the 002. Why would I cross grade unless this is clearly stated?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:45 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by drmandel View Post
I am also very confused. I own a Digi 002 rack and I cannot tell from what Avid has posted if version 10 will support the 002. Why would I cross grade unless this is clearly stated?
Pro Tools 10 did not break support for anything.

Everything that works with 9, still works with 10.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2011, 07:12 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

I have fully tested the 002r and 003r with PT10, and it is as it is in PT9.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2011, 07:41 AM
young.don young.don is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

I'm not worried about Pro Tools 10 at all. I can read. I know Pro Tools 10 is all good with this stuff.

I'm worried about Pro Tools 11, which is coming SOON. (a reason why most of you shouldn't upgrade if you can't afford it.) Pro Tools 11 will be 64 bit and I need to know what they mean by Pro Tools 10 being the "final release to support" the 002/003 family.

Dism... You didn't really answer... You said a couple things that were a LITTLE informative... The A and B were two sides to a coin.. Not just two separate questions... It was two COMPLETELY different sides of the same argument

But what I need to know is... Can I use my 002r with Pro Tools 11? Point Blank.

DigiTechSupport can answer this. I know he can.

whether I'm using it through CoreAudio/ASIO stuff or whatever. I just want to know if I can use it with Pro Tools 11. If not, I need to buy a new interface NOW.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2011, 08:25 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

You already have your answer... you answered it in the first post.

PT10 is the last version to support the 002/003 family.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2011, 08:26 AM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by young.don View Post
Can I use my 002r with Pro Tools 11? Point Blank.

DigiTechSupport can answer this. I know he can.
One of the funniest statements I have ever read on the DUC, for myriad reasons, none of which reflect well on the poster... lol, ff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-24-2011, 08:29 AM
drumster drumster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 463
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

I will support what "Dism" has said above and direct you to this FAQ on the Protooler Blog. Please read the answer to the question: "Is everything I own obsolete now?": http://www.protoolerblog.com/2011/10...-10/#more-7797
__________________
Lynx Hilo Thunderbolt
2013 Retina Macbook Pro 2.7 16 GB of RAM
PTHD 11.3.1 OSX 10.10.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2011, 09:06 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: Avid, I need to know about future support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
Pro Tools 10 did not break support for anything. Everything that works with 9, still works with 10.
All plug-ins, too? No need to update anything if not using HDX card?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Future support for Heat? Ru_C Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 01-27-2012 01:20 AM
Dear Avid customer support! Would you please answer my both avid support cases Ale Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-24-2011 01:56 PM
Future support for D24? Kirkland Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-24-2002 12:21 AM
Future DC30 support Danny Caccavo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-02-2001 06:49 PM
future and support for 001 bruce l 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-21-2001 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com