Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:06 PM
bobbyrichards bobbyrichards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Midi Velocity Tips

Any tips, tricks or advice on editing midi velocity. I did drum tracks on a roland TD-15 , all tracks have been quantized and all is good. Now i am onto the velocity hits and is there any way of changing the velocity values other than one hit at a time??? And humanizing it also.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:53 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,147
Default Re: Midi Velocity Tips

Expand the Instrument track(add a lane) and, by default, it SHOULD be the Velocity lane(you can change the selection if something else pops up). If you adjust the vertical size of the Velocity lane, its really easy to adjust the stacks. Grab a single diamond to adjust that note. Draw a box around notes on the piano roll, OR around a batch of velocity nodes and drag the bunch up/down. Say you want to adjust all Kick drum hits, click on the tiny keyboard at the left edge of the piano roll. Click on the note that fires kick drum and all hits/notes will be highlighted for adjustment.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:36 AM
bobbyrichards bobbyrichards is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Re: Midi Velocity Tips

yes i know all that , but then it will sound like a machine. I am looking for something that makes like every other hit a slightly different velocity because no human hits a drum twice exactly the same velocity. Maybe something that will make them all the same and then click on something that will offset each hit???Make it more human sounding instead of machine like??? Help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Volume or Velocity Change results in part muted MIDI sound gavriil1 Pro Tools 10 2 07-01-2013 10:23 AM
Can't edit velocity only anymore? Notes copying with velocity data... kingtinker Pro Tools 10 5 11-12-2011 10:53 AM
MIDI Velocity GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-30-2007 06:15 AM
midi velocity Jepse MIDI 0 12-30-2004 07:24 PM
Midi Velocity near 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-19-2004 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com