Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2013, 09:33 AM
Sixstringer7 Sixstringer7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 105
Default 002r Power harness?

I am aware that the 002 has issues and mine is experiencing them. It is no longer recognized nor working.

I understand that they are repaired or parts replaced at no charge to the owner.

My question is, who do I contact to get this fixed without having to get a service contract with Avid?

Any help appreciated.... Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2013, 10:23 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,158
Default Re: 002r Power harness?

The freebie replacements were done a long time ago(remember, the 002 has been out of production for something like 6 years now) so you will likely have to pay(but it should be under $50 anyway). Any authorized Avid repair center should be able to order one(allpro electronics in Nashville, TN is one). Beyond that, cleaning and "exercising" the connections might get you back online. Open the unit and find the connections, starting at the power supply. Remove and reconnect each connection at least 6 times to scrape thru the oxidation buildup. If you're handy with a soldering iron, you could opt to cut off the connector and wrap/solder the wires to the pins(clean and tin the pins first). The rack is easy as you just need to pop the top off(the console version is trickier, bud doable).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 01:10 AM
Need a 002r power harness? ultimateninja 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-05-2007 07:35 AM
Here's how to fix the power harness on your 002r.. PaddyNixon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 07-13-2006 11:08 PM
power harness on 002R chrisk23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-03-2005 11:06 PM
002R power harness JFreak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 06-14-2004 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com