Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2010, 01:33 PM
boabyd23 boabyd23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 167
Default Question about music production toolkit

I'm thinking of purchasing the mptk and have a few queries for those that have it.


First off at the moment if I run a session with around 40 tracks and a minimal amount of plugins the cursor starts to act unresponsive, jumps about and the session seems jittery.

- will the extra tracks taking it upto 64 help this.
- do we get extra busses expanding past 32

And that's pretty much it.

My setup I'm using at the moment is 2ghz 4gb ram 8.01 Digi 003 rack on sl 10.6.3 320gb hhd and ext 1tb hhd.

The power is there as I can run big sessions on logic, but I prefer Protools and don't want to buy the extra tracks if it doesnt improve performance or give extra busses.

Obv standard le is programed to let me use upto a maximum amount of tracks and use CPU to a certain point. so will the mptk lift the bar and let me run past 50 tracks ( no VI's) with no problems.

Any advice would be great. Thanks guys.

Robert

Last edited by boabyd23; 05-24-2010 at 01:37 PM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2010, 03:08 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

You'll never get the performance in Pro Tools that you get in Logic. Pro Tools does need more resources than Logic, period.

Theres a few things you can do to help. You can print tracks to audio that have heavy CPU plugs. Personaly i like to avoid the CPU chewers because they just make things difficult, Eleven and Revolver spring to mind but theres plenty of alternatives that won't bog down sessions, just be picky about your plugs and try before you buy.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:34 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,832
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

I'm pretty sure it doesn't add more busses. Only the complete production toolkit will do that (128).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-24-2010, 11:29 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

Quote:
Originally Posted by boabyd23 View Post
- will the extra tracks taking it upto 64 help this.
- do we get extra busses expanding past 32

[...]

My setup I'm using at the moment is 2ghz 4gb ram 8.01 Digi 003 rack on sl 10.6.3 320gb hhd and ext 1tb hhd.
1) While I've never heard this from anyone at Avid, I can't see how the increased track count would also help with performance.

2) No more busses with MPT.

So no on both accounts, I believe, unfortunately.

If I were you I'd start printing tracks if you're using any hogs as inserts, such as Eleven. In fact, I do this all the time regardless if I have to or not. If that doesn't fit your workflow I suppose you'll have to go with Logic.
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2010, 12:01 AM
boabyd23 boabyd23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 167
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

Thanks guys for the great advice.

The plugins used most often are the focusrite d2 and abbey rd rt13... Something compressor.

I Dont use any VI's and if I do I print those tracks before mix stage.
I really like to be able to control or change my mind during mixing but q suppose I could approach it from the old analog days were I needto make the decision and stick with it

that's a dissapointment on the busses front aswell.

Thanks anyways guys
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2010, 01:41 AM
smfelton's Avatar
smfelton smfelton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 682
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

It's not quite that bad just print the track, then 'hide and make inactive' the old track, if you want to change anything reactivate the track make the adjustments and print a new version.
__________________
 OSX 10.11.5, PT 12.5, iConnectAudio4+, Axe FX 2 XL+, Music Man Majesty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2010, 02:22 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

Quote:
Originally Posted by boabyd23 View Post
The plugins used most often are the focusrite d2 and abbey rd rt13... Something compressor.
Really? Haven't tried the new Abbey Road compressor but I wouldn't think it to be a hog. How many cores does your computer have? You don't happen to be mixing at a low buffersize setting do you?
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2010, 05:49 AM
boabyd23 boabyd23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 167
Default Re: Question about music production toolkit

Hi stiff,

there is zero latency on the abbbeys as well as the focusrite and my buffer is at the highest.

I have bout 3 abbey ones on the entire mix and bout 7 8 of the focusrite.

I would reduce it for recording and set hi for mixing.

Shouldn't be runnin out a juice based on that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music Production Toolkit Question Premo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-20-2009 10:30 AM
Music Production Toolkit question Jasari149 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-30-2008 02:56 PM
DV Toolkit/Music Production Toolkit upgrade price question EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-17-2008 04:23 PM
question on the new music production toolkit 2 audio_fuzz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-01-2008 12:41 PM
Music Production Toolkit Question Aussie169 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-14-2006 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com