Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:29 PM
bcntrble bcntrble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 43
Question Upgrading with Boxed upgrade to New Computer without PT 6.2.2 on it

I am upgrading from PT 6.2.2, Mac OSX 10.3 to PT 8 using a different computer and Mac OSX 10.5. Will the Boxed Upgrade version of PT 8 work when it is installed on a different machine? I have my PT LE serial number or code for 6.2.2. I don't think 6.2.2 will install on my computer because of later Mac OSX.
As a test I installed 6.2.2 on the new mac, but it will not open.
Will the boxed upgrade version, ask for my previous PT serial code number I have or does it have to find the program on the computer?
Thanks
b
__________________
Digi 002r
PT LE 7.4.2
Mac Book 2.2 ghz 4 MB Ram
Mac OSX 10.5.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2009, 11:43 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Upgrading with Boxed upgrade to New Computer without PT 6.2.2 on it

Quote:
As a test I installed 6.2.2 on the new mac, but it will not open.
that was a bad idea. Do a clean uninstall before trying to install 8

Why are you concerned about your 6.2 serial? If you have upgraded to v8 you should have been provided with a new code for 8.. If you bought the boxed version, I'm not sure how they get that to you, but check your "My Digi" on the digidesign website..

Don't be confused by it being called an "upgrade". It is a full installer and it is better to not have any old version installed at all..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2009, 12:05 AM
bcntrble bcntrble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 43
Default Re: Upgrading with Boxed upgrade to New Computer without PT 6.2.2 on it

Thanks for answering the question, that's exactly what I wanted to know.
b
__________________
Digi 002r
PT LE 7.4.2
Mac Book 2.2 ghz 4 MB Ram
Mac OSX 10.5.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I buy a new boxed 11R with PT8LE, will AVID automatically upgrade me to PT10? thrashmetl Eleven Rack 4 01-31-2012 03:10 PM
Boxed Version of PTMP8 Upgrade??? clausiii Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 01-13-2009 10:43 PM
Quick Question About Boxed Version Of PT8 (Upgrade). On Sale For $127. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-27-2008 09:13 PM
Help! No activation code with boxed pt8 upgrade this cant be right!!! Whoz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-22-2008 08:04 AM
Upgrade path to VI Boxed Set? Extreme Mixing Virtual Instruments 1 10-14-2007 12:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com