Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:28 AM
andre tchmil andre tchmil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 292
Default What\'s a good starting value for H/W insert delay

Want to use my good old hardware compressors and eq's on PT 6.
How much delay should I add in the hardware set up as a rough guide?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:55 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: What\'s a good starting value for H/W insert delay

Nothing.. unless they have any DAC's going in and out... or use any algorithms which incur delays.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:57 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 392
Default Re: What\'s a good starting value for H/W insert delay

Quote:
Want to use my good old hardware compressors and eq's on PT 6.
How much delay should I add in the hardware set up as a rough guide?
As for as I know, tha ADC in PT6.4 and up takes care of the delay introduced by your Digi converters A/D D/A-process. The H/W insert delay is useful when using digital outboard gear with the analouge inserts. Then you can compensate for the delay introduced in the A/D D/A-process of the outboard gear.

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
My private mixing room: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Main studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, Avid S6 24-fader.
Audio editing suites at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 6.1, OS X Mojave, Avid Omni, Artist Series control surfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:58 AM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 392
Default Re: What\'s a good starting value for H/W insert delay

Was typing the same time as mr. Rogut

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
My private mixing room: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Main studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, Avid S6 24-fader.
Audio editing suites at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 6.1, OS X Mojave, Avid Omni, Artist Series control surfaces.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Metronome starting with delay goga macOS 2 05-01-2011 01:32 PM
Help-delay when starting record Jeff ONeil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-14-2010 01:24 PM
Delay between PT starting and BFD starting Baritonealone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-01-2008 03:58 PM
delay starting recording on Pt HD3 pepasmax Storage Subsystems 1 07-28-2002 10:05 PM
big delay when starting recording on PT HD3 pepasmax Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-13-2002 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com