Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2009, 11:09 AM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default MIDI Controller Setup

Hello Everyone: Hope this is simple...I currently have a PowerMac G5 w/Digi 003R and I would like to take an old Kawai PH50 and use it as a MIDI Contoller so I can control/operate BOOM etc. Can you walk me through the setup?

Currently: I connected the MIDI Out of my keyboard into the MIDI IN on my 003R. The system will record MIDI from playing the keyboard, but I can't hear it play back. I checked the Output assign but it does not give me the option of Analog 1-2. Also, I don't know how to get the keyboard to control BOOM etc.

Did I lose you?

Brian in Charlotte
TheVoiceofBrian.com

PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0, 3Gigs RAM, ProTools 8.1, Digi003R BLA Mod., OSX Leopard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2009, 11:42 AM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

I assume you have the Keyboard setup in the AudioMIDI Setup application, even though you didn't mention this step. If not, you should complete this step.

First, a MIDI track just records MIDI data, which has no association with sound/audio. It is merely data that, simply put, represents when a specific key was pressed, how hard, and how long it was held (among other things). Then you have to send that MIDI data to a virtual instrument (like Boom or Xpand2) or an external MIDI device that is capable of converting that note information into a Piano or Guitar playing that note. That is a very "nutshell" type of description, but hopefully it helps.

Create a stereo Instrument track; insert Boom or another VI; show the "instrument" section in the Mix window; set the MIDI input to All (or your keyboard); make sure the MIDI output reads "Boom" or what ever VI you loaded; then you should be able to record and playback MIDI.

I might advise you to start with Xpand2, and load a patch, like Piano, first to get things setup right. That way you are loading a patch where all keys and octaves of your keyboard will trigger a sound. I haven't really used Boom much (maybe just once when I first got v8 to see what it was about), but it is possible that not all the keys/octaves will trigger a sound (as there are far fewer sounds to trigger in a VI like Boom).

I hope I didn't lose you.
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2009, 12:04 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

cneal92...EXCELLENT advice and IT WORKS WONDERFULLY. I'm thrilled. This is like putting a kid in a candy store now! I am so appreciative!! Yes, boy, Xpand2 is way easier than BOOM and I've already started working with it.

I'm a professional voice actor, but have been doing audio production for as long as I have been doing voiceover...over 20 years. So, I really wanted some more creative control and options...Once I upgraded to PT8 and saw the possibilities, I was hooked. This is SO great.

Quick question. How can I then turn my MIDI information into a waveform, such as I'm used to with voiceover etc.???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2009, 12:28 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

OK, cneal92, I figured the last question out...I simply bounced the file into the format of my choice....good grief, what a blast this is.

Many thanx again for your time.

Brian in Charlotte
TheVoiceofBrian.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2009, 01:50 PM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,725
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

Brian - check the blog it has over 100 tutorial videos all free, they should help.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do incredible things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2009, 03:45 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

Brian:
Glad you got it figured out. Bouncing is one solution. You can also set the audio output of the Instrument track to a bus (like bus 1-2), create a stereo (or mono) audio track, set the input of the audio track to the same bus (bus 1-2), record enable and record.

If you are not familiar with the input monitoring setting ( "Auto-Input" or "Input Only" ) you might want to read up on it in the Ref. manual. Or as RussUK suggests there are tutorials out there. I wrote a blog on the subject (no video ) at:

http://ptuser.blogspot.com/2009/02/a...onitoring.html

Happy VI'ing!
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2009, 02:15 PM
Brian in Charlotte Brian in Charlotte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default Re: MIDI Controller Setup

This has been so helpful, thanks again. I'm checking out the blog too!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Midi Controller Setup Jameson MIDI 4 04-16-2010 03:14 PM
help with midi controller setup kennyboy MIDI 3 11-06-2007 01:45 PM
setup MIDI controller? ekitel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-31-2005 09:51 AM
Please help with MIDI controller setup DUCHUNTER 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-12-2004 06:46 PM
Midi Controller setup. SoNiCAnGeR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-28-2003 10:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com