Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:47 PM
bandagedhand bandagedhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 51
Default New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins etc?

Hey all.

Picked up my new comp today. Asus mobo. Quad core. 4gig Ram. 2 hard drives etc.

I want to install everything properly. The guy at the computer store said its ready to install XP but are there any BIOS adjustments or anything i should make first (considering its mainly for Pro Tools).

Also, considering i have 2 hard drives, where should i install everything. Obviously ill keep one drive for audio, so does that mean i install all programs and plugins and samples on the system drive? And if so, should i partition these drives at all?

Any help would be great...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2008, 08:16 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins etc?

Quote:
so does that mean i install all programs and plugins and samples on the system drive?
Yes.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2008, 09:56 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,852
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

In BIOS, turn off the Asus Cool&Quiet feature. I have all my rig plugged into a power strip so by setting Boot on AC Restore(in BIOS) the whole system boots when I hit the power button on the strip. Also, disable floppy and select Hard Disk as first boot device to speed up boot(you can always go back and change that later if you need to boot from a floppy or CD/DVD). As spkguitar said, all your software gets installed on the C: drive. The second hard drive is for audio sessions only(i.e. when you open protools and create a new session; save it to your audio drive). As for samples, you might consider a third drive just for those, but I installed ezdrummer on my C: drive and it works just fine.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:51 AM
shobud shobud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 38
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

Hi,
So lets say you have a 3rd drive (I do)
Would it be advisable to install all plug-ins on it?

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2008, 10:57 AM
GTBannah GTBannah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GuyBarTola
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

Quote:
Hi,
So lets say you have a 3rd drive (I do)
Would it be advisable to install all plug-ins on it?

Dan
Plugins on system disk, right fellas?
__________________
Derrkins
GuyBarTola
********************
PT 2018; Nuendo 8.?; Studio One 3; former Sonar and Sequoia user .... GENELEC 1031A, AVANTONE MIX CUBES (Active); Sibelius 7.0; Dorico; Mac Mini 2.6 GHz Core i7, OS X 10.12.2 Sierra; 16GB RAM; 480 GB System SSD; 1 TB 7200 rpm Audio; 3 TB samples; Roland A-800 Pro controller; GOOD BYE PEE SEA!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2008, 11:04 AM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

Quote:
Hi,
So lets say you have a 3rd drive (I do)
Would it be advisable to install all plug-ins on it?

Dan
No!!! system disk as GTBannah said!!!
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2008, 12:07 PM
shobud shobud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 38
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

K. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,852
Default Re: New PC, 2 hdd, how/where install XP PT programs plugins

Yes, all plugins and all software goes on the system drive. Some software instruments suggest installing sample on their own drive(BFD I believe is one).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where should I install plugins? jdphillips73 macOS 1 10-12-2012 07:21 AM
pro tools plugins in other programs? brodel34 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 10-20-2010 03:01 PM
Is it possible to install plugins? tapia Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 02-24-2010 07:13 PM
Where to install plugins Artfuldodger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-01-2008 09:13 AM
Plugins and other editing programs redarrow32 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-27-2001 09:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com