Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2012, 10:50 PM
FrustratedCustomer FrustratedCustomer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Hey I took the time to register so I could write in these forums (on a satellite connection so it actually takes awhile) just because I am so frustrated with Avid that I need to vent and maybe, just MAYBE, I'll get a reply that will consist of useful information, because Lord knows I've looked all over the world wide web for the answers I'm looking for and came up with nothing.

So, first off, I realize this is in the pro tools 9 forums and this post is actually concerning pro tools 8 but they already took the pro tools 8 forums out and it feels like I just bought the damn program.. anyway, starting from the beginning, I bought an mbox 2 mini and the installation went fine. The first time. Then I got a new mac pro computer and a 003 rack+, so now I have 2 copies of the pro tools 8 software CD's, both of which seem to be slightly different, one with the digidesign logo on it from the mbox and one with the avid logo. Neither of them work. The digidesign one comes up with some kind of "cyclic redundancy error" about half way through the intallation and the Avid one.. is a joke. I opened the setup.exe and all that popped up was a small blank window with "Welcome to Pro Tools LE" at the top. That was it. Tried clicking all over the box but nothing worked. So now I have two coasters and a 5000 dollar computer and 2000 dollar recording interface that are useless to me because there doesn't seem to be any way of just downloading the software from this site. When I checked out the support section of the site, well, that's when I really got mad. Apparently I have to PURCHASE an avid support code for help with the TWO bad installation disks I recieved? When I googled the problems with each of the disks I discovered there's alot of people with the same issues and it seems like the only people who have made any progress had to call and arrange for Avid to give them some kind of link to download the software. Well okay I'll do that tomorrow I guess, when it's "business hours" but c'mon, you NEED the hardware just to run the program anyway, why not just make it easy to download it without having go through all the trouble? Or why not at least have some kind of option to punch in my authorization codes from one of the CD's that came with my hardware to allow access to the download?

They should just allow customers to register CD keys to their own online accounts and download the software any time they want, so I don't have to worry about scratching the disk or losing it.

That's my rant. I'm tired and had to kill some time and just thought I'd put this out there for someone to see and maybe let me in on something I might be missing.

It's too bad I'm so used to pro tools and already bought a bunch of their hardware. If I could go back in time I'd just learn Logic and get some other hardware
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2012, 11:58 PM
AvidCS's Avatar
AvidCS AvidCS is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Posts: 1,156
Post Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Sorry about the trouble with the discs. We activated LE8 in your Avid account, so please sign in to download the installers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:47 PM
FrustratedCustomer FrustratedCustomer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Thank you and sorry for losing my patience. I didn't realize it would be as easy as asking for help on the forums to solve this problem and didn't expect anyone from Avid support to even read this thread so I take back what I said about using Logic instead :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2012, 11:07 AM
limshady limshady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiCS View Post
Sorry about the trouble with the discs. We activated LE8 in your Avid account, so please sign in to download the installers.
Hey i got the same problem, my DVD with Pro Tools 8 Le just wont work......

It just opens a window with two arrows and a blank window .......

Did you get everything done with your installation ?!?!

And do you have an email address to contact for the download link ?!?!

I would appreciate your help,

Best regards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2012, 08:03 AM
MarmotMusic MarmotMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiCS
Sorry about the trouble with the discs. We activated LE8 in your Avid account, so please sign in to download the installers.
I am having the same problem. I had to uninstall (I did a complete/clean uninstall) ProTools LE 8 from my MacBook Pro and keep getting errors that a file can't be found when I try to install off of the Factory DVD. I have been trying for weeks to get this to work and am very frustrated at this point.

Can you activate PT LE 8 on my account for download as well?

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2012, 12:54 AM
Ricky Dixon Ricky Dixon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Longmeadow Ma.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Hopefully someone could do the same for me. Irecently bought pro tools 8 le with mbox2 mini and i could not install the software at all!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2012, 04:12 AM
Ricky Dixon Ricky Dixon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Longmeadow Ma.
Posts: 7
Default pro tools le 8 pauses and clicks, unable to "bounce"

My program pauses frequently, and clicks when it does play a track. and when trying to bounce a track it stops before completing the bounce. does anyone have an answer for this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2012, 08:47 AM
OfficiallySIR OfficiallySIR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Glendale
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

Hi I'm fairly new to posting to forums so I hope I am not breaking any rules by posting my question here.

I have a very similar problem as the original persons post and that is why I chose this thread to post my situation.

in a nut shell, My pro tools 8 LE disk is suddenly not working anymore so I looked at my registration card and found a support link. they were nice enough to give me an installer which came in 3 parts. This is where I'm stuck. the instructions that they gave me to complete the install where a bit out of my league. It involved opening a terminal window or something of that sort I will post the actual instructions as well as my system and system specs.

If anyone could please explain in laymen term how to complete this installation I would be absolutely elated.

system:
Mac OS X 10.6.8
Processor 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Running Pro Tools 8 LE

Here are the install instructions:

In order to reconstruct the file Pro_Tools_LE_804_Full_Installer.dmg:

Please download the sub-files individually by clicking on the links above. Save these sub-files into the same destination folder.
After completing the download of ALL sub-files, open a command prompt/console window.
Change the current directory in the command prompt/console window to the destination folder used for downloading the sub-files.
To reconstruct the original file, run the appropriate command based on your operating system to concatenate all the sub-files:
For Windows system:
copy /b subfile1.bin + subfile2.bin + subfile3.bin "Pro_Tools_LE_804_Full_Installer.dmg"
For Linux / Macintosh systems:
cat subfile1.bin subfile2.bin subfile3.bin > "Pro_Tools_LE_804_Full_Installer.dmg"

PLEASE HELP!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2012, 07:18 AM
MarmotMusic MarmotMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

If you find the folder that you downloaded all of those files into, you can hit Control + Click on it and it will give you the file path to the folder. Then open Terminal by going into Applications > Utilities > Terminal. You will type the following:

cd /path/to/downloaded/files (where the path is the path you found above, where the downloaded files are saved)

Now you should have something that looks like this in the Terminal window:

/path/to/downloaded/files >

Next you'll type (or copy and paste):

cat subfile1.bin subfile2.bin subfile3.bin > "Pro_Tools_LE_804_Full_Installer.dmg"

And bam- you have your installer in that folder that you downloaded all that stuff.

Now, how did you get them to send you those files?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2012, 05:25 AM
erebus121 erebus121 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1
Thumbs down Re: Pro Tools 8 Install FAIL

I too have been suffering the same problem as 'FrustratedCustomer'. My Pro Tools 8.0.3 CD has been used a grand total of five times and is now unreadable.

After scanning forums, sites as well as the knowledge base on Avid AND google-linked searches for nearly a week I still have had zero assistance.

I read of the ability to download registered Avid products but after this, I read of the inability to download software bundled with hardware, (with no reason for this listed anywhere!).

Having to pay for someone to give me a link to a downloadable file seems completly unacceptable especially when you're struggling to start your own sound and lighting business.

Some help in this matter would be much appreicated...

-SK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Install Fail :O notedmusic Windows 2 01-31-2013 06:16 AM
Flux Install fail.. Ben Krum VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 08-30-2012 01:36 PM
PT 10 over LE, install fail, ASC fail JaeBe Pro Tools 10 11 11-30-2011 02:29 PM
Install fail time machine macOS 1 12-30-2010 08:55 AM
fail to install compusic Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-07-2001 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com