Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-05-2009, 04:38 PM

Default "Lacie" not an audio playback volume

I just spent 2 hours searching so I wouldn't repeat a question as most newbs do and still couldn't find an answer so I throw myself to the experts here to possibly guide me through this endeavor.

Running Mbox 2 through my Mac Pro with a Lacie 320G external hard drive. I am running PT 8.0 as well and am kind of new to Mac so I am really a novice. I am trying to setup my disk allocation to send everything to the Lacie rather than Mac HD but every time I try to send a session file to the Lacie this way I get the error message of "Lacie" is not an audio playback volume. I have no clue what this means or how to save my sesions there. I also cannot click on any session files in the Lacie and open up the session.

Any ideas, tips or advice is well appreciated. Thank you.
Old 10-05-2009, 08:15 PM

Default Re: "Lacie" not an audio playback volume

This may help.... It's from Digi's site.

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=23114

I didn't see anything on there that said USB 2.0 Drivers were compatible for recording. Is your Lacie drive a usb or firewire? Anyways, if it is firewire, check the specs of what Digi requires and if they match up to what your external drive is.... Then go from there.
Old 10-06-2009, 05:38 AM

Actually it is a USB 2.0, if I need to I'm sure I can switch the connection to a firewire. Thanks for the link and reply, I will try to reformat the drive to a MAC OS Extended drive. Maybe that'll work.
Old 10-06-2009, 06:46 AM

Quote: